Bread Crust Zucchini Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This recipe was very good, but I made several changes: I didn't use the bread per earlier reviews that indicated it would get mushy. I also used 1 Tbsp olive oil instead of the butter, used a mixture of zucchini & squash, and added 2 chopped green onions and 3 chopped artichoke hearts to the vegetable saute. I used lowfat cottage cheese, replaced the yogurt with fat-free sour cream, used Eggbeaters instead of the eggs, and added 1 Tbsp parsley to the cottage cheese mixture. Baked at 400 degrees for 30 minutes; it turned out wonderfully! My husband and I almost polished it off just between the two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Practically Organic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
I have tried this recipe several times and each time, the bread on the bottom of the pan stays mushy. Not a bad flavor, but soft bread doesnt seem to work for a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
After reading several other reviews, I was careful to follow the recipe exactly and stand my bread along the side of pie pan, not the bottom. In this way, I avoided the bread turning mushy. It was toasted nicely, and the cruchiness definitely balanced out the dish. The quiche itself had a nice tangy flavor, although the cottage cheese mixture didn't set as well as a regular quiche. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
In two words - too bland - to suit me. I made it without bread and I added a little bit of carrot and green pepper to the zucchini. Also added a few drops of hot sauce and some onion salt. But it needs something else to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I'm very pleased with this recipe even making it lower fat. Followed others recommendations and used low carb bread, olive oil in place of butter, added 2 cloves garlic minced, 2 scallions chopped, 1 1/2 t. oregano, 4 egg whites instead of whole eggs, 2T. fresh parsley, 1/2 c. parmesan. I also did mix the veggies with the egg and cheese mixture and then poured into pie plate. I also baked it for 45 minutes cause it was just a little too loose for my liking at 30 minutes. Good job and thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
My husband and I loved this! Others reviewed this as bland, but with a few minor changes/additions, it was very tasty and refreshing. I used 12-grain bread instead of wheat (tastier), 1/2 cup skim milk in place of yogurt, doubled the oregano, added 1 tsp. dried parsley, 1 cup shredded cheddar/mozzarella blend and salt/pepper to taste. Delicious (tasted a bit like pizza, but better)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreechrismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
Although this was easy to make, it was not a big hit with my family tastewise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
This was really good! Next time I'll make it in a bigger pie plate and add some more zucchini. More Parmesan on the top helps, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
My family loved this recipe. It was low in fat and delicious. Next time I make it, I will probably leave out the bread, and mix the zucchini mixture with the egg mixture before I bake it. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
The changes I made to this recipe were minimal: I added a bit more zucchini, one red pepper and also used parmesan only for sprinkling (mature Cheddar in the quiche itself). Mine set fine, but they did take a bit longer than 30 mins (closer to 45). It even looked very pretty and appetising. However, I found it bland and flubbery, and didn't finish my slice. It tasted of something I couldn't quite put my finger on, but didn't really remind me of quiche. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States