Bread Crust Zucchini Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I used many of the ideas - toasting the bread and extra seasoning. But my quiche trick is to put the cheese in on the crust to solve the soggy issue. The cheese melts on the crust (bread in this case) and creates a barrier that keeps it from soaking up the moisture. I used the parmesan to do that in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I actually toasted the whole grain bread a little before putting it in the pan, and this solved the soggy bread issue! Also added some extra onion & seasoning per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzyk727

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Very tasty and healthy. We'll be making this one again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Ok this is a great start, but needs changes: I used the yogurt,but also added a little sour cream and white chedder and colby jack cheese, and added an extra egg. Add more spices. Mix the veggies and flour in with the egg mix. Use whatever veggies you like. I added some red pepper. Put crusty, hearty bread slices along the sides of the pan (they kind of slide, but once you spoon egg mix along the bread pieces, they will stay put), then before you put in oven, SPRAY THE BREAD WITH OLIVE OIL SPRAY. I used a thinner quiche pan, so it cooked in 30 mins. terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I found this quiche very good after making some alterations as suggested by other members. I used a store-bought crust to avoid the soggy bread and baked it for longer (about 45 minutes but probably should have gone even longer to bake the bottom. For fear of blandness, I doubled the oregano and added a bunch (maybe two tbsp) of garlic pepper (a mixture of pepper, garlic, salt and other spices you can buy at the store). I also threw a handful of cheddar into the cheese mixture. I will probably make this recipe again and try adding some onion, mushrooms, or garlic. Overall I was very satisfied with how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Okay,but not a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I had a 1/2 inch of bread sticking up past the filling and it was pretty burt by the time the eggs were cooked- overall the recipie had excellent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity Danjczek
Home Town: Warsaw, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
My husband and I loved this! Others reviewed this as bland, but with a few minor changes/additions, it was very tasty and refreshing. I used 12-grain bread instead of wheat (tastier), 1/2 cup skim milk in place of yogurt, doubled the oregano, added 1 tsp. dried parsley, 1 cup shredded cheddar/mozzarella blend and salt/pepper to taste. Delicious (tasted a bit like pizza, but better)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreechrismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
It gets points for being healthy, but the taste is just so-so. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
The changes I made to this recipe were minimal: I added a bit more zucchini, one red pepper and also used parmesan only for sprinkling (mature Cheddar in the quiche itself). Mine set fine, but they did take a bit longer than 30 mins (closer to 45). It even looked very pretty and appetising. However, I found it bland and flubbery, and didn't finish my slice. It tasted of something I couldn't quite put my finger on, but didn't really remind me of quiche. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States