Bread Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Use bread flour in this recipe if you have it. The extra protein will help it set up and hold it's shape better. That being said, this is a great recipe, and the bowls were a huge hit! I used about half the sugar recommended, but it could have used closer to the amount listed in the recipe. I made 6 bowls and they were a pretty good size, but I certainly wouldn't make any more than that as they would be too small. After I sliced off the tops and hollowed out the bread, I brushed egg white on the outside of the bowls, and baked for an additional 10 minutes. It made the bowls look beautiful and seem a bit sturdier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I used part whole wheat flour and part all-purpose, and that seemed to make my bowls a little chewy and not so smooth. And I only made four bowls because of the reviews, which was way too much bread. Eight would've been too small, I should have stuck with six. It was an okay recipe. Nothing to knock your socks off. The bread was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caseynm

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
The first time I made these I only made six and they were too small for adult bowls but worked great for the kids. The second time I stuck with only four and they just perfect for the adults. Thankyou for sharing this wondeful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Disaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
These bread bowls worked out PERFECT for my meal. I made guinness beef stew and it's one of my husband's FAVORITE meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This recipe was awsome! It was easy to make and turned out very moist. Went over well with the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chinogirl
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
VERY GOOD basic recipe! I substituted wheat and white flour and about one cup of oats; only 1/4 cup of golden brown sugar; brushed with egg white and sprinkled with sesame seeds before cooking! Saved dough "insides" for breadcrumbs. Made 8, but I think 6 would be better. Also used pizza stone to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I had high expectations. I tried to make two enormous bowls, but they turned out quite un-round and under-cooked in some places. I will try the recipe again divided into more servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissMorticia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Avarage, the recipe does not create a very soft bowl. It ends out dry and grainy, however, the bowl it very tasty and easy. I would recomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was just average for me. When I rolled them and put them on the pan to let them rise the second time they became pretty flat which made it hard to put soup in them. But the taste was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaMack
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I have used this recipe at least 5 times now...not only that but it makes excellent rolls...I will post thepicture of them. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States