Bread Bowls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This recipe is awesome. I made it exactly how the instructions told me too, the only thing I changed was that I added a clove of chopped garlic, some rosemary and I didn't punch down the bread balls. They were perfect and I recommend this recipe to anyone that is interested in dank bread bowls. Enjoy and good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Serenity Sams
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Awesome recipe! Mine didn't rise as high as I would have liked, but it still worked out. I also used the bread bowl for chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serenity Sams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Awesome for the chili we made and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is a nice, hearty bread bowl. Not sure about the directions to flatten into disks--I never do that, I just form into round loaves and let rise, then bake. Once the dough is baked, you can cut off the tops then cut around the edge and pull out the insides for a nice bread bowl. I am not sure what the trouble is with rising for people--make sure everything is room temp except the water, which should be at 110 degrees F in order to have the yeast rise properly. These bowls hold up well. I served a southwestern style soup in these with cheese and avocado--delicious. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I think this is great my daughter was able to make it over the phone we talked a bit and it was great michael b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This made excellent bread bowls! It is a keeper in our house! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I didn't flatten into disks after reading the reviews, but my bowls still turned out pretty flat. The underside also caved upwards a little bit. Mine were done at around 30 minutes instead of 40-50. The taste was just a little bit off. I'll keep searching for a great bread bowl recipe. I was very disappointed in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I used 3 cups whole wheat flour and one white. Also, divided dough into 2 instead of 4, as I wanted larger bowls for putting dip in at a party. The taste was fine, but they didn't raise into bowls. I would try this recipe again, but don't flatten into disks at all. Whatever shape they are when they are doughy is what shape they will be when they come out. That is really the only major issue with this recipe, otherwise the taste is fine, and makes a nice crusty outside with a more chewy inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This receipe worked fine -- I didn't flatten the bread to discs before baking, I left them as balls. I put a home made stew in them. The bread had a nice coarse taste and texture to them, perfect compliment to the stew. In addition the crust was firm and chewy/crunchy that tasted really good and held up well under the gravy of the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Didnt like them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shearwater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States