Brazilian Style Flan (Pudim de Leite Condensado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This recipe was really hard to make but it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This was my first attempt at Flan and it came out excellent. The hardest part of the recipe was stirring the sugar constantly for fifteen minutes so it would melt and not burn. . I will be making this as a staple of my desserts for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
great recipe added a tsp of vanilla and tbsp of cocoa powder turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Loved it! Really value other commenters-- followed the suggestion to use more sugar for more syrup. One question: I used a glass pie pan and ended up with plenty of syrup, but also a dark hard mass of sugar on the pan. I feared the carmelized sugar would stick to the pan so I sprayed with just a little cooking spray. I also used two tbsp water (recommended elsewhere) to get a good syrup. Did that backfire on me? Or is it inevitable to have that disc of sugar stuck to the bottom/top? Or did I do something else wrong? Also, I learned you really have to let it fully cool in the refrigerator. We couldn't wait and had the first slice when it was still a little warm. But the next day, there was SO much more syrup and it had settled so nicely. Hope I have an occasion to make another again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I've made this recipe again and again. It always comes out great and this has to be my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This recipe tasted like overcooked eggs to me. I will try another recipe. I think it's a matter of personal preference on this one. some may like a super eggy tasting flan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROYALE333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is a recipe that we in Srilanka call Caramel pudding.. It is very popular and is a fall back quick and easy pudding that we use very often. That recipe uses water in place of the milk and less sugar for the sauce. I tried this recipe as is and Im comparing it to that. I love the firmer custard texture and the thicker caramel sauce that forms here. Its great warm or cold and I always unmould so the sauce drips down the sides. Somehow, I find that the sauce increases as it chills, so if I unmould straight from the steamer (which I use in place of oven. same cooking time) I have less sauce. If I refrigerate overnight then turn out, more sauce. Anyway, this is so much better than the traditional I grew up with.. My friends agree too.. They've all asked me for the recipe.. :) Who would have thought just milk in place of water would make such a big difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This has turned out to be the best flan my husband and I have ever eaten. that's saying a lot, as we lived for 30+ years in Norther California - land of Mexican food and Gourmet foods!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The caramel took a lot longer then 10 minutes but was well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Made this on the spur of the moment. I lived in Brazil and love their food. I was always afraid to make this but it turned out to be relatively easy and came out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States