Brazilian Style Flan (Pudim de Leite Condensado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by halaaa
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I only used 1/2 cup of sugar, omitted the 2 tablespoons of milk and didn't separate eggs. I blended everything together. This is by far the best flan I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dknight316
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Simply the best flan you can ever make, you got to try this recipe. I did have to alter the bake time, maybe because I have an electrical oven, after the initial 45min bake time I uncovered it and baked it for an additional 30 min checking the 1" from the center every 10min to see if it got done. Also I used 1/2 cup to make the caramel, I have a Batman mold and it was still too much. Next time ill see if 1/3 of sugar enough to coat the mold in a thinner layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This recipe was really hard to make but it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This was my first attempt at Flan and it came out excellent. The hardest part of the recipe was stirring the sugar constantly for fifteen minutes so it would melt and not burn. . I will be making this as a staple of my desserts for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
great recipe added a tsp of vanilla and tbsp of cocoa powder turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Loved it! Really value other commenters-- followed the suggestion to use more sugar for more syrup. One question: I used a glass pie pan and ended up with plenty of syrup, but also a dark hard mass of sugar on the pan. I feared the carmelized sugar would stick to the pan so I sprayed with just a little cooking spray. I also used two tbsp water (recommended elsewhere) to get a good syrup. Did that backfire on me? Or is it inevitable to have that disc of sugar stuck to the bottom/top? Or did I do something else wrong? Also, I learned you really have to let it fully cool in the refrigerator. We couldn't wait and had the first slice when it was still a little warm. But the next day, there was SO much more syrup and it had settled so nicely. Hope I have an occasion to make another again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I've made this recipe again and again. It always comes out great and this has to be my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This recipe tasted like overcooked eggs to me. I will try another recipe. I think it's a matter of personal preference on this one. some may like a super eggy tasting flan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROYALE333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is a recipe that we in Srilanka call Caramel pudding.. It is very popular and is a fall back quick and easy pudding that we use very often. That recipe uses water in place of the milk and less sugar for the sauce. I tried this recipe as is and Im comparing it to that. I love the firmer custard texture and the thicker caramel sauce that forms here. Its great warm or cold and I always unmould so the sauce drips down the sides. Somehow, I find that the sauce increases as it chills, so if I unmould straight from the steamer (which I use in place of oven. same cooking time) I have less sauce. If I refrigerate overnight then turn out, more sauce. Anyway, this is so much better than the traditional I grew up with.. My friends agree too.. They've all asked me for the recipe.. :) Who would have thought just milk in place of water would make such a big difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This has turned out to be the best flan my husband and I have ever eaten. that's saying a lot, as we lived for 30+ years in Norther California - land of Mexican food and Gourmet foods!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States