Brazilian Passion Fruit Mousse (Maracuja) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Great recipe, especially when you don't have much time for prep. The tips helped. In order to give it some texture, I sprinkled roasted almond flakes and tender mint leaves. The best part is that passion fruit and lime takes away the distinct flavour of condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Something to note is that brazilian passionfruit are giant yellow and so bitter you can´t eat them fresh (well I can´t) so if you use a purple passionfruit it´s probably double the amount and leave the sugar out and maybe add some lemon juice. I made this as per the recipe with Brazilian Maracuya since I live in South America. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is a great recipe, I have made it twice so far and it turned out great every time. Since passion fruits vary greatly in size, the asked-for amount of 8 passion fruits is very non-specific. After reading through the comments, I altered the recipe slightly. I used a little over 1 cup of passion fruit pulp (no seeds), added one can of condensed sweetened milk and and about 1 1/2 cups of whipping cream. I dissolved 1 pack of gelatin in part of the juice before I added it to the cream mixture. I also omitted the sugar, the condensed milk added enough sweetness and I think the tartness is what gives passionfruit its zing, so I didn't want to tone that down too much. I mixed it all up, put it all in my Kitchenaid with the whisk attachment, and beat it for a good 3 minutes until it was foamy. Then I chilled it overnight. The result was a light, sweet and tart heavenly mousse. This has become my favorite passion fruit recipe, and both times I made it, it was gone within a day - even my picky son eats it. Next time, I may serve it with a fresh raspberry sauce or as a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I made this with one of those lemon shaped lemon juices. it was the only variance in the recipe. I did follow one review that called for it to sit for a bit. Mine sat overnight and was light and sweet- tangy. I used it to fill puff pastry cups garnished with blackberries. I came out ver y well. You do notice the condensed milk flavor but I didn't bother me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Adding 1 Teaspoon of gelatine mixed with 1 Tablespoon Hot Water, dissolve well then mix through the whipped mixture will make it set more like a moose consisency. not bad though, can use any pulped fruit., doesn't need the Tabespoon of Sugar, loads with the Condensed Milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe! I enjoyed Maracuja mousse when we lived in Angola, Africa and now I'm enjoying it in Colombia, South America. There aren't many recipes out there in English, but this is my favorite version (no gelatin). You might want to make a Maracuja syrup to go on top. Just dissolve a cup of sugar in a cup of water in a pot on the stove. When the sugar is dissolved, add the pulp of one maracuja and boil until it reaches a syrup consistency. Spoon a thin layer of this syrup over the mousse (seeds and all) and let cool in the refrigerator. Yum-Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Fantastic. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Luanda, Luanda, Angola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Oliver Jackson (Portucale's Restaurant Chef) I got it!!! So nice, very good flavor....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Unfortunately, we didn`t like this dessert so much. Maybe I wait more from a dessert, but this dessert was very simple for us. Maybe it were my fruits, but the mousse was lack of fruit flavor. I realized that the next day it was completely tasteless. I halved the recipe and used a little less sweetened condensed milk and cream and mine turned out almost like a mousse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I tried two recipes, and this was one of them. It tasted good, but it didn't set up. It was just creamy. I tried it again, adding gelatin, and it didn't set up then, either. My friend told me that there isn't enough acid in the passion fruit to help it set, so I modified this recipe and it turned out GREAT! What I did was I added 1 can sweetened condensed milk to a blender . After straining 7-8 passion fruits through a sieve (I also added a tiny bit of water)(reserving the seeds for a topping), I put the passion fruit juice in the empty condensed milk can, and then added the juice of a lime (or lemon), until the can was a little over 1/2 full, and threw that in the blender. I also added heavy cream. It set up immediately, and it tasted great. I put the mousse in a bowl, and added the seeds to the top. I couldn't taste the lime at all. We ate half the bowl before it was chilled, but it definitely tasted better chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States