Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Excellent and healthy comfort food. Made the recipe as written except used Swai and cut the pepper down to one large red. My company enjoyed it too. Will make often. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This stew is pretty good. I did swap out 2 peppers for 2 diced zucchini. My husband added hot sauce for a kick & I only added the cilantro to mine after I served it. The lime flavor was not strong at all. I may add a little lime juice to mine when I serve it. Also, I used flounder as it is a firmer fish & I was afraid tilapia would have disintigrated. Good basic recipe & easily modified for individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
To be honest, I was skeptical at first, but after tasting it, I was pleasantly surprised by how flavorful the stew is! So easy to put together and so tasty. Great comfort food material and a dish worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I cooked it for 11 other people and all the people I spoke to like it a lot. I simmer the stew for two hours though so the vegetable came out tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! Entire family loved it!! My 6 year old asked for seconds, that truly means it's a winner. :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is a great and easy to make recipe. I made it for a guests dinner. I marinated overnight (tilapia seems to take so long to get any flavor), reduced the amount of bell peppers to taste. And since I didn't have any preservatives-free coconut milk I just used plain whole milk. It was delicious, everyone wanted more including the kids. I also added 2 Tbsp of achiote oil at the very end as mentioned in other recipes for Brazilian moqueca fish, which is what I think this is. Thanks for posting. Leftovers taste great the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Added Thai garlic chili sauce, collards, carrots....super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I left out the green peppers and onion, I added 2 stalks of celery, 2 large carrots and 8oz of fresh sliced mushrooms. I didn't have cumin so I added a Tbl of garam spice and 1/4 t of ground chili pepper. I also subbed orange roughy and a dozen large cleaned chopped up shrimp. Really good soup! My husband said it was as good as our favorite Tai restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShannyBanany
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I would give this soup 4.5 stars if I could. :) I made it for dinner last night and with a few changes it was really great! I followed what some of the other reviewers said and added a little heat to it with a chopped up chili pepper, and it probably could have benefited from even a little more heat, if you like a nice kick. I also used two flounder filets (what I had on hand) and a pound of fresh shrimp, rather than all fish, and I have to say that I liked the shrimp much more than the fish, in this stew. I cut back on the bell pepper because four just seemed like too much, and I only used two, pretty big, orange/green bell peppers. I also only used one onion, added some leftover bamboo shoots that I had, and some sliced mushrooms. I used four tomatoes chopped up, to replaced the canned tomato, because I needed to use them up. Also, the can of coconut milk that I used was only 13.5oz, which was fine, with the liquid from the veggies, this was more than enough. I let this simmer for about 30 minutes and at the end added a few squeezes of lemon juice (I would have used lime but I used all of my lime for the marinade), a little sea salt and fresh cracked pepper, and let it simmer for another 5 minutes. Topped with fresh cilantro to serve. I really loved this and it kind of resembles the Thai soup Tom Kha, which I love, plus it's a pretty healthy, hearty meal! I will definitely make this again, using only shrimp. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Made this last night. As written, I give it 4 stars. It was good, but I felt like it lacked something. I added a couple TBSPs yellow curry powder and it added just the right amount of kick! I'd give it 5 stars with the curry. We ate it over brown rice and then had the leftovers with tortillas. Great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States