Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Loved it! I used lite coconut milk. I also cut the pepper in half, because of my children. Awesome recipe! My husband wants me to try it with chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I halved the recipe to serve myself and my boyfriend -- This soup is quick, easy and tasty, but I'm not sure that it would keep well for a second day or in the freezer. I marinated the fish for a couple of hours, then sautéd the onions until they just started to caramelize. I used half of the recommended amount of peppers (because I really feel that too many can overpower a dish) and used half green and half red. I allowed these to sauté lightly with the onions before adding the other ingredients. Once I had the tomatoes, fish and coconut milk in, I watched the pot. Tilapia is very delicate, and I ended up adding my flat-leaf parsley (in place of cilantro) after only 10 minutes of cook time. I allowed it to simmer for another 5 minutes, as recommended, and then I was in soup heaven -- my fish didn't flake up, and it was perfectly cooked through. I don't think this tastes even remotely Thai, personally. I've not eaten much in the way of Brazilian food, but I think the flavors are unique and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was great but with a little curry added in, it was even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
If my wife will eat a fish dish, you know it's good. And she finished all I gave her. Using tilapia gives it no fishy taste or smell. I'm sure cod or catfish would work as well but wouldn't be as authentic. Another benefit is that this recipe is very paleo. I made two small changes: added the live juice until the end to make it a dry rub, used light coconut milk to knock off some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is fantastic! I didn't put in the cilantro but otherwise made as directed. I've made many fish stews and this is the best by far. I'm typically not a big fan of dishes with coconut milk but loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This recipe was so tasty! I would suggest a few changes: 1. Less bell peppers 2. More paprika and salt to taste. 3. Add lemongrass to give it a zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was really good. I added some sliced ginger to marinade and some garlic and grated ginger to the saute. Also added sliced thai hot peppers because I like it hot and some fish sauce. Only used 2 red bell peppers. Served over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe last night and it was awesome. My only regret is that I didn't marinate the fish longer. I used swai and hake fish instead of tilapia, but it was still delicious. I serve it over lime cilantro rice with warmed corn tortillas and kids loved it! Even my three year old wanted seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherricocoa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I made this for the first time this evening , for me it was just ok , I made this because I liked the ingredients but the taste seemed to be missing something . I only used 1 onion & bell pepper as I thought 2 of each was way too much,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was looking for a yummy fish stew and had thou i had found it. I was wrong. It had no taste. Waste of money
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Brazilian Feijoada

See how to make a flavorful black bean, bacon, and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States