Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
I marinated for 2 hours and followed the recipe to the letter. Unfortunately it was bland. I added a dry Caribbean Jerk seasoning and extra garlic powder that gave it the flavor boost needed. Cooked it about 5 minutes longer and let it rest for 20 minutes. I served it with an Old Bay seasoned balsamic rice and baked cinnamon w/brown sugar sweet potato slices. It was a hit!! The entire family loved it. This recipe is a really good base, however for those who enjoy heavily seasoned dishes you will need to add your own layersl of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micki808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
I have made this dish 2 times already. I absolutely love it. It is full of flavor and very easy to make. It taste best if you marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
I was excited to make this dish, since I was looking for an interesting tilapia dish. I was not too impressed, though the stew was good. It was just a bit bland. However, I had to make changes based on not having certain ingredients (no bell peppers and I used SILK coconut milk, not canned, and I used coconut oil instead of olive oil). I followed the recipe otherwise, and marinated the fish for about 1.5 hours. While we did like the recipe, I do not understand the rave reviews. Next time I will add more cumin and paprika, and maybe a touch of siracha. The canned tomatoes should be replaced with fresh, if possible, IMO. I do live in a foodie area, so maybe I am just used to very flavorful dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
It's a family fave after a few tweaks..while prepping veggies roast the peppers and some corn over the gas burners..add sliced boiled eggs at the end and added some small shrimp with the fish ..cod worked great too..serve over rice or one kid likes it with just french bread..good stuff!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Mobley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I thought it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcus laws

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I don't usually like fish but loved this. I like the flavor of the coconut milk in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
On Friday's during Lent we have meatless dinners. I came across this recipe searching by photo for a FISH SOUP. The photo is what drew me in,it looked exactly like my mom's home made fish soup. I followed the recipe with a few changes, ie: 1 yellow pepper,I added ginger, used basil when cooking and added fresh cilantro when serving. I also used some white wine. To thicken it up a bit I added chunks of butternut squash and 2 small potatoes cubed. Because this find was last minute I didn't have time to marinate the fish(I used Whiting). So I made the marinade and poured it over frozen fish then placed it in the oven at low heat for 10mins to quickly thaw it out and absorb the marinade. It turned out great. We ate it as a stew with garlic bread....the kids loved it and I got a taste of of home. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Interesting flavor profile, really not too fishy. Tweaked the recipe by: using 3 green peppers, doubling the tomatoes, using half a bunch of cilantro, and doubling the garlic. Overall, really good. Needed a bit more salt by my tastes. Using a whole bunch of cilantro would have been overpowering though, even half a bunch is probably too much for some. We dipped ours with tortilla chips & some cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Fantastic! I used less bell pepper and onion, and added jalapeno for more spice. Lite coconut milk for fewer calories. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C. Hutchinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Just made this soup and im loving it the only thing i added to it was 1 cup broth thats it love it will be making it again thanks for recipe! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Barker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States