Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Delicious recipe. I only used red and yello peppers and also threw in a couple of packs of frozen crab and it came out very tasty. This will definitely turn into a 'go-to' recipe. For those who are concerned about the amount of fat in the coconut milk, I made this once where I split the coconut milk in half and substituted the 2nd half with almond milk (very light fat free substitute) and it came out just as nice, not as sweet but still a great alternative for those watching their weights :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I am in the process of preparing this and one large onion is too much. Used 2 peppers not 4. Everything else per directions and there is no way one can of coconut milk covers more than 1/2 of mixture in pot. Had to add 2 cups of veggie broth. Be prepared and have more on hand if you want all coconut milk broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
It tasted alright, but I couldn't finish it. I think this recipe is more for fish lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I made this last night. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I didn't have coconut milk at home. Instead, I added some yogurt right the end. It was amazing. The yogurt was so good that I'm not sure I would use coconut milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This is an AMAZING recipe. So easy to make and to tweek to your desires. I did use lite coconut milk, which was great. I loved the taste of the the canned tomatoes, I think they added a bit of bite which I love. I scaled the recipe to 4, instead of 6 because I only had 1 lb. of fish on hand. In the marinade I used extra lime juice because I love citrus and it was great. I also marinated for about 24 hours because in the former reviews that seems to make a difference. I also added the marinade to the soup. I used 1/2 of green, yellow, and orange peppers (my market had a sale and I take advantage of those.) Once I added the cilantro it all came together. YUM, YUM, YUM. It was a bit sweet so I added so salt and WOW. This is so fantastic. Thank you BellevueMama for posting this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My daughter made this for me a few weeks ago and I absolutely love it. Made it myself last night. It's pretty easy and just ridiculously delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Fabulous! Used whole coconut milk and diced fresh tomatoes, substituted basil for the cilantro and left out the onions and peppers. Reduced cumin and paprika a bit and left out the ground pepper. My husband thinks cod would be great instead of tilapia - but the tilapia was good. Served over jasmine rice. Did the whole thing in the crock pot and didn't use any oil. Marinated the fish 20 minutes, then added the tomatoes, c.milk and basil and slow cooked for a few hours. Whole c.milk has a lot of fat and calories, so eliminating the sauteing step worked well for me, especially as I kept out the onions and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
very good. I didn't need the entire amount of onions, and peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This dish is really fabulous. I had high hopes on this recipe and it justified them. Tomatoes and coconut milk make a great sauce. Some reviews stated the fish was sweet, mine wasn`t (maybe it depends on coconut milk). I used cod instead of tilapia. Very good recipe, I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Brazilian Feijoada

See how to make a flavorful black bean, bacon, and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States