Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I left out the green peppers and onion, I added 2 stalks of celery, 2 large carrots and 8oz of fresh sliced mushrooms. I didn't have cumin so I added a Tbl of garam spice and 1/4 t of ground chili pepper. I also subbed orange roughy and a dozen large cleaned chopped up shrimp. Really good soup! My husband said it was as good as our favorite Tai restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShannyBanany
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I would give this soup 4.5 stars if I could. :) I made it for dinner last night and with a few changes it was really great! I followed what some of the other reviewers said and added a little heat to it with a chopped up chili pepper, and it probably could have benefited from even a little more heat, if you like a nice kick. I also used two flounder filets (what I had on hand) and a pound of fresh shrimp, rather than all fish, and I have to say that I liked the shrimp much more than the fish, in this stew. I cut back on the bell pepper because four just seemed like too much, and I only used two, pretty big, orange/green bell peppers. I also only used one onion, added some leftover bamboo shoots that I had, and some sliced mushrooms. I used four tomatoes chopped up, to replaced the canned tomato, because I needed to use them up. Also, the can of coconut milk that I used was only 13.5oz, which was fine, with the liquid from the veggies, this was more than enough. I let this simmer for about 30 minutes and at the end added a few squeezes of lemon juice (I would have used lime but I used all of my lime for the marinade), a little sea salt and fresh cracked pepper, and let it simmer for another 5 minutes. Topped with fresh cilantro to serve. I really loved this and it kind of resembles the Thai soup Tom Kha, which I love, plus it's a pretty healthy, hearty meal! I will definitely make this again, using only shrimp. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Made this last night. As written, I give it 4 stars. It was good, but I felt like it lacked something. I added a couple TBSPs yellow curry powder and it added just the right amount of kick! I'd give it 5 stars with the curry. We ate it over brown rice and then had the leftovers with tortillas. Great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I was surprised at how delicious this turned out to be. I didnt measure exactly and didnt use all the right ingrediants. I used swai fish and little shrimp, fresh tomatoes, no garlic and everything else as written; I just used what I had lying around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
A Lovely lovely dish. I did cut back the bell peppers by half and increased the garlic by double...but I always increase garlic. I also added chili pepper flakes and I think that kick is really needed, however I give you 5 stars for even the idea and base for this dish. Loved it!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was delicious and was even better the next day. I did end up switching the coconut milk with chicken broth. Only did that because the coconut milk had solidified and I wasn't sure if it was still good. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I personally love this recipe. I only use 1 onion (or 1/2 red and 1/2 white or yellow) also use 2 bell peppers vs the 4 called for. I prefer fresh vegetables over canned so I use fresh tomato instead of canned. I also have tried other fishes with it as well as shrimp. All yummy. My kids don't love it but I do! I wish I could make it more "coconuty" :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharonBakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Delicious! We loved it. Added only 2 peppers and one zucchini. Also did not have enought fish so added shrimp as well. Any fish that holds together or seafood would work. Also should have added the fish and shrimp later, both were a little over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I really wanted to give this 3.5 stars but there is none so I will ere on the side of going up. This was most certainly easy to make and tasty, I just can't help thinking it needs something...a little kick. We did add red pepper flakes to spice it up and I did use light coconut milk, I will use full strength next time. I am going to make again and see what I can add to it. One person did suggest saving lime juice to put on it at the end, I may try that. Thanks for the recipe, we enjoyed it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This was a great recipe. Unfortunately Talapia isn't available here in Korea. We made it once with Cod, once with Salmon and once with Mahi-Mahi. All three were to die for! i recommend Salmon if Talapia isn't available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States