Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! Entire family loved it!! My 6 year old asked for seconds, that truly means it's a winner. :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is a great and easy to make recipe. I made it for a guests dinner. I marinated overnight (tilapia seems to take so long to get any flavor), reduced the amount of bell peppers to taste. And since I didn't have any preservatives-free coconut milk I just used plain whole milk. It was delicious, everyone wanted more including the kids. I also added 2 Tbsp of achiote oil at the very end as mentioned in other recipes for Brazilian moqueca fish, which is what I think this is. Thanks for posting. Leftovers taste great the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Added Thai garlic chili sauce, collards, carrots....super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I left out the green peppers and onion, I added 2 stalks of celery, 2 large carrots and 8oz of fresh sliced mushrooms. I didn't have cumin so I added a Tbl of garam spice and 1/4 t of ground chili pepper. I also subbed orange roughy and a dozen large cleaned chopped up shrimp. Really good soup! My husband said it was as good as our favorite Tai restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShannyBanany
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I would give this soup 4.5 stars if I could. :) I made it for dinner last night and with a few changes it was really great! I followed what some of the other reviewers said and added a little heat to it with a chopped up chili pepper, and it probably could have benefited from even a little more heat, if you like a nice kick. I also used two flounder filets (what I had on hand) and a pound of fresh shrimp, rather than all fish, and I have to say that I liked the shrimp much more than the fish, in this stew. I cut back on the bell pepper because four just seemed like too much, and I only used two, pretty big, orange/green bell peppers. I also only used one onion, added some leftover bamboo shoots that I had, and some sliced mushrooms. I used four tomatoes chopped up, to replaced the canned tomato, because I needed to use them up. Also, the can of coconut milk that I used was only 13.5oz, which was fine, with the liquid from the veggies, this was more than enough. I let this simmer for about 30 minutes and at the end added a few squeezes of lemon juice (I would have used lime but I used all of my lime for the marinade), a little sea salt and fresh cracked pepper, and let it simmer for another 5 minutes. Topped with fresh cilantro to serve. I really loved this and it kind of resembles the Thai soup Tom Kha, which I love, plus it's a pretty healthy, hearty meal! I will definitely make this again, using only shrimp. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Made this last night. As written, I give it 4 stars. It was good, but I felt like it lacked something. I added a couple TBSPs yellow curry powder and it added just the right amount of kick! I'd give it 5 stars with the curry. We ate it over brown rice and then had the leftovers with tortillas. Great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I was surprised at how delicious this turned out to be. I didnt measure exactly and didnt use all the right ingrediants. I used swai fish and little shrimp, fresh tomatoes, no garlic and everything else as written; I just used what I had lying around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
A Lovely lovely dish. I did cut back the bell peppers by half and increased the garlic by double...but I always increase garlic. I also added chili pepper flakes and I think that kick is really needed, however I give you 5 stars for even the idea and base for this dish. Loved it!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was delicious and was even better the next day. I did end up switching the coconut milk with chicken broth. Only did that because the coconut milk had solidified and I wasn't sure if it was still good. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I personally love this recipe. I only use 1 onion (or 1/2 red and 1/2 white or yellow) also use 2 bell peppers vs the 4 called for. I prefer fresh vegetables over canned so I use fresh tomato instead of canned. I also have tried other fishes with it as well as shrimp. All yummy. My kids don't love it but I do! I wish I could make it more "coconuty" :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharonBakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Brazilian Feijoada

See how to make a flavorful black bean, bacon, and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States