Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Very good stuff! I might try Thai basil next time instead of cilantro. I added some hot sauce at the end. A little bit of fish or oyster sauce is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I used 3 bell peppers and 4 tilapia filets. This was a great dish! I used about a 1/3cup of water because I had 13oz of coconut milk. I served it over jasmine rice with warm semolina bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This was amazing - easy, delicious, and made of pantry staples (for me, anyway) - I'd give it 10 stars if I could! Was browsing for new and different tilapia recipes and came across this gem. Followed the recipe as written except I only had lemon juice on hand, and I added 2 tbsp of sweet chili sauce and reduced the cumin in the marinade, because I'm not big on cumin. I also sauteed the bell peppers with the onions and added a few handfuls of spinach. OMG, so good! My fiance and 2-year-old devoured it along with some cheddar-garlic biscuits. I ate the leftovers cold for lunch today and it was even better - I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This was great! My 4 year old son polished off his bowl too (with some parmesan cheese added to the top). I used Salmon fillets and as others mentioned, I used 5 T lime juice (3 in the sauce, then 2 at the end), 8 oz of baby potatoes cut up, 1 tomato, a larger can of diced tomatoes (28oz)and only 2.5 peppers. I didn`t bother cutting up the salmon because once it cooked, it flaked nicely. A complete dish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Loved it! I used lite coconut milk. I also cut the pepper in half, because of my children. Awesome recipe! My husband wants me to try it with chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I halved the recipe to serve myself and my boyfriend -- This soup is quick, easy and tasty, but I'm not sure that it would keep well for a second day or in the freezer. I marinated the fish for a couple of hours, then sautéd the onions until they just started to caramelize. I used half of the recommended amount of peppers (because I really feel that too many can overpower a dish) and used half green and half red. I allowed these to sauté lightly with the onions before adding the other ingredients. Once I had the tomatoes, fish and coconut milk in, I watched the pot. Tilapia is very delicate, and I ended up adding my flat-leaf parsley (in place of cilantro) after only 10 minutes of cook time. I allowed it to simmer for another 5 minutes, as recommended, and then I was in soup heaven -- my fish didn't flake up, and it was perfectly cooked through. I don't think this tastes even remotely Thai, personally. I've not eaten much in the way of Brazilian food, but I think the flavors are unique and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was great but with a little curry added in, it was even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
If my wife will eat a fish dish, you know it's good. And she finished all I gave her. Using tilapia gives it no fishy taste or smell. I'm sure cod or catfish would work as well but wouldn't be as authentic. Another benefit is that this recipe is very paleo. I made two small changes: added the live juice until the end to make it a dry rub, used light coconut milk to knock off some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is fantastic! I didn't put in the cilantro but otherwise made as directed. I've made many fish stews and this is the best by far. I'm typically not a big fan of dishes with coconut milk but loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States