Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This stew turned out so much tastier than I expected I just had to add a review. I followed the recipe almost exactly, though I halved the amount (which ended up being enough for 2 people to have dinner plus 1 bowl of leftover). I don't think the exactly kind of fish matters, any mild white fish will do. The cilantro really completes this dish so I would strongly recommend not leaving that out. My boyfriend could not get over how awesome this soup was, I will definitely be making it again, and next time I will leave the recipe at its full 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This turned out really good for us. It was easy to make and made a lot. The only problem for us was that it seemed very rich so a little went a long way. Still it is a good recipe and a great one for someone who might not like fish very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We just had this stew for dinner tonight and I must say it was fabulous...will def add it to my rotation. Ok now for my variations: we love bell peppers but I agree with the other posters 4 seemed to be too much. I used 1 large red pepper and 1/2 green pepper and it bordered on too much...next time will use 1/2 red and 1/2 green. The diced tomatoes & coconut milk only came in 13.5 oz cans so I added 1/2 8 oz can of coconut water. Also I love the sweetness of scallions so I used 1 yellow onion and 6 green scallions. Finally, the seafood I used was Red Snapper, Whiting and shrimp (that's what I had on hand) and they held up perfectly! Next time I think I'll substitute lemongrass for the cumin for a true Thai flare...so glad to have found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Solid dish. Catfish fillets were on sale at the store and it went well with the stew. I added half a tablespoon of red pepper to give it a little kick and halved the bell peppers. Everyone that had it loved the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Looks great! I will definitely try this. Let's keep getting the word out about how great tilapia is; the most eco-friendly fish and tastes great too! If you live in a warm climate you can easily raise your own too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This recipe is a keeper for sure! It was sooo yummy! I was a little hesitant because although I like some fish, I'm not a huge seafood lover and "fish stew" just sounded so... fishy. But it really wasn't, and I'm so glad I tried it. Instead of on the stove, I just threw everything in my slow cooker and set it on high for 2.5 hours. I accidently used twice the amount of diced tomatoes, but it still turned out great! It was perfect with quinoa... I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Delicious recipe. I only used red and yello peppers and also threw in a couple of packs of frozen crab and it came out very tasty. This will definitely turn into a 'go-to' recipe. For those who are concerned about the amount of fat in the coconut milk, I made this once where I split the coconut milk in half and substituted the 2nd half with almond milk (very light fat free substitute) and it came out just as nice, not as sweet but still a great alternative for those watching their weights :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I am in the process of preparing this and one large onion is too much. Used 2 peppers not 4. Everything else per directions and there is no way one can of coconut milk covers more than 1/2 of mixture in pot. Had to add 2 cups of veggie broth. Be prepared and have more on hand if you want all coconut milk broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
It tasted alright, but I couldn't finish it. I think this recipe is more for fish lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I made this last night. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States