Brazilian Collards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I've used this recipe for years, but I substitute Smoked Pork Hocks or Salt Pork for the bacon. If using the pork hocks, use whole and then cut the meat off and return it to the pot when finished cooking. Excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
These greens ROCK!! I gave the recipe to my mother and she made them exactly as written only she used "peppered salt pork" (all we could find)so she didn't use quite as much as called for. You can adjust the "kick" with the cayenne pepper. My 7 year old granddaughter ate two helpings. This will be my new greens recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
My neighbor's whiney little 7 year old stopped in as these were getting done. He hung around until I offered him a taste (He's like Mikey - He hates EVERYTHING). As it turned out, a taste wasn't enough. He asked for some in a bowl - which I gave him. He left and a few minutes later, the phone rang - it was his mom wanting the recipe. This isn't my review - it's Kenny's. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunshine
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Good taste. I used frozed greens, and added Jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
These greens are sooooo good! I can't believe that there are only 5 reviews for this dish. If I could I would give this ten stars. Definetly a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I omitted the chicken stock and the wine vinegar. My husband doesn't like soupy collards. This recipe is very tasty and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. I didn't have any peppered bacon so I just used regular bacon and added a LOT of pepper. Not quite the same, I'm sure but still very good. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I grew up on all types of greens but these were AWESOME! I love the smokey spicy flavor and the red wine vinegar took just enough of the bitterness away without depriving the green of its fresh garden taste.Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Being raised in the south I grew up on Collards but as an adult I had never cooked them until this year. I made them for New Years Day and they were great. My husband never had Collards and he loved them. My 28 year old daughter said that these were her new favorite dish. Needless to say I will be using this recipe quite a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
WOW! These collards are excellent. I served them at a big family dinner. Everyone raved about the dish. My father who's been making collards since before I was born asked me for the recipe. That's a HUGE compliment! If I make them again when there will be a lot of kids I may half the cayenne pepper so the collards can be enjoyed by the little ones as well. Thanks for this great, great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States