Brazilian Collards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I grew up on all types of greens but these were AWESOME! I love the smokey spicy flavor and the red wine vinegar took just enough of the bitterness away without depriving the green of its fresh garden taste.Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. I didn't have any peppered bacon so I just used regular bacon and added a LOT of pepper. Not quite the same, I'm sure but still very good. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I omitted the chicken stock and the wine vinegar. My husband doesn't like soupy collards. This recipe is very tasty and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
These greens are sooooo good! I can't believe that there are only 5 reviews for this dish. If I could I would give this ten stars. Definetly a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunshine
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Good taste. I used frozed greens, and added Jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
My neighbor's whiney little 7 year old stopped in as these were getting done. He hung around until I offered him a taste (He's like Mikey - He hates EVERYTHING). As it turned out, a taste wasn't enough. He asked for some in a bowl - which I gave him. He left and a few minutes later, the phone rang - it was his mom wanting the recipe. This isn't my review - it's Kenny's. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
These greens ROCK!! I gave the recipe to my mother and she made them exactly as written only she used "peppered salt pork" (all we could find)so she didn't use quite as much as called for. You can adjust the "kick" with the cayenne pepper. My 7 year old granddaughter ate two helpings. This will be my new greens recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I've used this recipe for years, but I substitute Smoked Pork Hocks or Salt Pork for the bacon. If using the pork hocks, use whole and then cut the meat off and return it to the pot when finished cooking. Excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States