Brazilian Collards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These the best! I make especially for New Year's Day. You can use any type of greens. This recipe is not the healthiest use of greens but for a splurge... so worth it! I have made this recipe without using pepper bacon and added freshly cracked pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
SALTY!!! I will definitely make this recipe again because it has the potential to be very delicious but it was much too salty for my taste on my first attempt. The next time I make it I will make it with salt-free bacon and salt-free chicken stock. Ironically, I did use low-salt (50% reduced salt) bacon instead of the bacon I usually buy (salt-free bacon from the butcher shop).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
5 Star! Love these, best collards I've ever had. So good my super picky husband ate them and actually liked them. I used regular bacon(it's what I had on hand), and only used 1/4 of the cayenne, it was just the right amount of kick! I used 2 1/4 cups of chicken stock, only because I make and freeze my own and that's how I had it frozen...even with the extra chicken stock the collards were not soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
After reading the reviews and how people just loved this recipe I decided to take it to a dinner and it was not the hit of the party, in fact it was the opposite! Won't be making that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I grew up in the south eating collards. These are the best I've ever made/had. Our family absolutely loves them. Can't believe there are so few reviews of these - try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
2 hours!!! I didn't read well enough and didn't leave enough time to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made these for a south american dinner party and all I can say is WOW!!! I WON that dinner party! (Can you win a dinner party?) I was the only one who was asked for their recipe! LOVE IT!! I am making this on thanksgiving now because I can't wait to eat it again!! (OH! and I doubled the recipe and used only 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper! It was PLENTY!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUREDOLLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
WOW !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I tried tried these last night , they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scooter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States