Brazilian Chicken with Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This was so good... that I could have eaten the chicken without the coconut sauce. I made a double batch and so I had to improvise a little. It was a little too hot for some of the group I was making it for so I added 1/2 a can of sweetened condensed milk to tone it down. What I have learned over the years is that hot foods are generally better the next day. So, I made this the night before and put in a casserole dish and reheated. The group absolutely loved it. Even those people that don't like spicy foods, loved it. The combination of flavors is great. I did add a bell pepper for color and this is great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ria44
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Had to double the spice rub quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
That is pretty close what I used to eat growing up, the only things I'd change would be the ground cumin, less spicy hot,use cilantro not parsley . I will try making the same but with shrimp and fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juaninha E Andrew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I just made this for my family. It had just the right amount of heat so we could taste the coconut milk. Loved it! You can spice it up more if you wanted. But i will continue to make as printed, with the exception of cutting the chicken into smaller bite size pieces. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I really can't understand the reviewers who said this was bland. It is literally impossible to end up with bland results if the recipe was actually followed. If modifications were made and the result was bland--that's another story (and not justification for a bad review). I still crack up every time someone completely changes a recipe and then reviews it (sorry if this is hard on your ego, but it really screws up the review system). I was very happy with this recipe, as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Absolutey delicious! Used canned tomatoes, less cayenne and two mild jalapeños from the garden. Seasoned and browned the chicken and threw it in the slow cooker. Sautéed the onion, etc. And mixed it with tomatoes and coconut milk and poured it all on top of the chicken. Cooked on low 8 hours. Fantastic flavor! Thank you, MLYIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
A lovely and simple recipe, I replaced cayenne pepper with paprika. I also added a slice of lime which works really well with coconut milk and is used a lot in Brasilian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Will Johann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Brazilian Chicken with Coconut Milk" tasted excellent. I should not have been surprised when the "sauce" tasted like a red Thai curry given that many of the ingredients were similar (onions instead of shallots, jalapeno peppers instead of Thai chili peppers, ginger, garlic, and coconut milk - no lemon grass or kaffir lime leaves though). The sauce was a beautiful salmon color with bits of red (tomatoes) and green (jalapeno peppers and parsley garnish). I deviated from the recipe by cutting the chicken into 1" cubes so that my chicken-hating husband would be less likely to complain since more of the surface area of the chicken would be browned (his preference). The spice mixture on the chicken tasted like hot version (cayenne) of a typical Middle-Eastern curry (cumin, turmeric, coriander). I also deviated from the recipe by stirring the chicken into the sauce (instead of serving the sauce over the chicken) which would obviously blend all the seasonings together. My own end result tasted like an Indian curry with a parsley garnish instead of a cilantro garnish. Although there are simpler curry recipes that taste just as delicious, I won't hesitate to make this one again and again. I really enjoyed it. Thank you MLYIN for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was a different flavor than we are used to... it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Excellent recipe; great flavor combinations. Husband gives this two thumbs up and will be a regular in our rotation! Try it, you won't be sorry; just adjust the spices to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States