Brazilian Cheese Puffs (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
It's not corn starch but tapioca starch that is used in this recipe. That will make a big difference in the taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I Love Spatula
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I am Brazilian and I tweeked this recipe to make it easier and less fat. I added only 1/2 tsp of salt. I used no fat greek yogurt and Low Fat Crumbled Feta Cheese. I did NOT use water and I did not boil anything. I simply mixed all the ingredients. The trick to make it puff is to really knead it. Without water it makes a very thick dough that you can knead some more and then roll into little balls. It takes only 15 minutes baking on a greased baking sheet. Do not let it brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Spatula

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This is absolutely yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These are a great base - although eaten strictly as made, they are also yummy and cheesey. I'll be adding some spices to zest them up next time, but it's a keeper. I don't understand other reviewers who use the wrong ingredients and then give the recipe a poor rating when things don't turn out right. Tapioca flour (tapioca starch) is readily available in pretty much every grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
LOVE IT. You must used Tapioca starch. Anything else will not do this recipe justice. I love Pao De Queijo. If you are lucky you can find this prepackaged recipe in the supermarket. In the latin food section otherwise this recipe will make it pefect too. Obrigada. (Thank you in Portuguese)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salads4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I used this for a pizza crust and bread sticks. It worked great. I sustituted olive oil, added salt, and finished with generously with garlic and parsley. Pizza crust: I spead the puffs into a greased pie pan with the outside rim being the thickest. I browned the crust, filled with sauce, mozzarella, pepperoni and then cooked at 400F Bread sticks: In a greased 7 by 7 pan, I spread the mixture flat and topped with 1/4 cup mozzarella, sprinkled with garlic and parsley. Finished cooking just like the recipe directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this recipe two times. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly, and it was very bland. The second time I added peppers, onions, spieces, and mushrooms, but the recipe still tasted funny. I think all of the corn starch makes the recipe have a strange taste and texture. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This is exactly what I was looking for! I LOVE the cheese puffs at my favorite Brazilian steak house. I love them almost as much as the steak! I am so happy I found this recipe. This is it! Exactly like the ones I love there. The hardest thing about this recipe was finding the tapioca starch. I ended up finding it at a local Asian market. Turned out it was really cheap too, like $1. I will say that I grated my own parmesan from a block, and it was a little strong. Next time I will try the parmesan from the green bottle or just reduce my own grated and up the mozzarella. There will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Great tasting and naturally gluten free. One question on the recipe after trying twice is it is described as pouring the mixture into the muffin tins and mine had to be pulled apart and place in tins or on cookie sheet. Is the recipe missing milk or something that would make it pourable?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States