Brazilian Cheese Puffs (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Since I found this recipe I make them all the time. They don't look like the picture but are delicious all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Perhaps I did it wrong. When I cooked the cornstarch, it balled it. After adding the cheese and working it a bit, the dough was more manageable. However, the texture was never right after baked. The flavor was fine. I've seen recipes involving potato. Perhaps that's the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Made these exactly as written except I was out of mozzarella so I used white cheddar. They came out nice and crispy on the outside, but soft and airy on the inside. If you eat gluten free (or paleo-ish except dairy), these make great bread. I will definitely make them again, and substitute various cheeses and other flavors. ***As others have mentioned - it's TAPIOCA starch (or flour), NOT cornstarch. I too am disappointed when people do not make a recipe as written and then give it a poor rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
If you're not following the metric version of the recipe take note that you should add more Mozzarella than Parm. Fantastic recipe. Didn't quite yield the amount stated, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These were absolutely delicious! I made one substitution, whipping cream for the yogourt, because i didn't have yogourt. I also added some italian seasoning...next time will either add dill or peppers. Will be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Killer Carrot
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I love these! I haven't made them, but found them at a restaurant. I am so happy to have found this recipe so that I can try them! The only thing is, where does one find tapioca starch with which to make them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I Love Spatula
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I am Brazilian and I tweeked this recipe to make it easier and less fat. I added only 1/2 tsp of salt. I used no fat greek yogurt and Low Fat Crumbled Feta Cheese. I did NOT use water and I did not boil anything. I simply mixed all the ingredients. The trick to make it puff is to really knead it. Without water it makes a very thick dough that you can knead some more and then roll into little balls. It takes only 15 minutes baking on a greased baking sheet. Do not let it brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Spatula

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Mine didn't puff, otherwise I would probably give it 5 stars. From reading other reviews I knew the right starch was very important. I bought what was called "tapioca flour" but it also said "also known as tapioca starch" right on the package. I have no idea why they didn't puff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
A great recipe, and very easy. We tweaked the recipe by using grated cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella, reducing the salt to 1/2 - 3/4 teaspoon, adding 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder and about 2 teaspoons of chopped rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Great tasting and naturally gluten free. One question on the recipe after trying twice is it is described as pouring the mixture into the muffin tins and mine had to be pulled apart and place in tins or on cookie sheet. Is the recipe missing milk or something that would make it pourable?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States