Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This did not work well for me. But I tried substituting flaxseed for the eggs, so that may be why. I will try again while following the recipe exactly and see what I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidhe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I'm also from Brazil and was craving for these. I LOVED it!!! I've made it countless times already and I keep getting asked for the recipe :) I did not use the garlic though, and used the oil instead of butter. Super easy to make, and fills me & my family with happiness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I love pao de queijo. As a brazilian I've had it every other day my entire life. This recipe is good but I made a few changes. I did not add olive oil or garlic because traditionally those ingredients are not used. As I am in the U.S.A. right now I had to use an alternate to the ''queijo de minas'', so I used cojita cheese because I think it's a pretty good replacement. The cojita cheese can be salty depending on the one you buy so be careful with how much salt you add. Overall it's good recipe and the paes de queijo turn out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These were perfect! Nice and chewy on the inside just like our favorite Brazilian restaurant. Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding a little mozz cheese also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is the best recipe i've used to far! I would like to point out a few things to those who've had bad results: 1) heat the water/oil/milk to boiling then the tapioca will seize. 2) when it says to mix till smooth, think more like 10 mins + by hand or use a dough hook on a stand mixer for 3-4 mins...that will help the texture & the air bubbles form. 3) try a mix of parm & queso fresco for a nicer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Was delicious! Used butter per reviews from the Brazilians. Everything else I followed. I did make sure all the clumps of powder were gone before I baked it. It wasn't at all watery like some other reviews said. I was worried about that, and put each scoop in a mini muffin pan, but I think that made the bread more dense, and not as round. Hard to stop eating. Be careful. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Made again...this time using grapeseed oil and mozzarella cheese. Fantastic. Also I found that if you pour the hot oil/milk/water mixture into a bowl that has the tapioca flour in it already it's much easier to mix. Also only used 1 tsp of minced garlic. Also used my hands when adding egg and cheese. They turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fletcher, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This recipe was awesome! When I told my husband (who introduced me to Pao de Queijo) that someone had complained that it was chewy, he said, "that's the way it supposed to be!" I made it exactly like the recipe (used the butter instead of olive oil) for our Easter Dinner and he could not stop oohing and ahing about them. The only complaint he had was that they were TOO big! He said that the ones he's had have been about a 1/3 of that size. He thought that a 2" scooper would have been the perfect size. I will make these again and again! Quick Tip: Want to make sure that this sticky batter comes out of your scooper with ease? Spray the inside of the scoop with Pam and they'll just slide right out in nice round balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I made these as a Passover treat, and they are quite delicious! I used olive oil and parmesan. The only change was to use about 1/4 tsp garlic powder in place of the minced garlic, and to make the balls smaller (about ping-pong ball size). This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States