Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I have a hard time using the soy milk. But I think this is perfect for those with allergy issues. We love Pao De Queigo. A great family treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salads4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made this for my first Gourmet Club meet (theme was Brazilian food). Everyone thought it was great! Just be prepared that it will have a rubbery texture and the dough was more doughy than cottage cheese-like. I omitted the garlic and rolled smaller balls; chose butter over oil; regular milk over soy. The only thing I would change is add more cheese...at least a full cup. Defintley will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sayhi2me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Loved it! The rubbery, chewey texture was the best part! Thank you for the recipe! I will try switching the ratios of water and oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and was not happy with the results! Not Brazilian at all. Very chewy, doughy, and too much garlic flavor. They didn't even form balls. Reminded me more of something from Red Lobster. Anyway, choose a recipe with more flour (and/or manioc) flour and only 1 egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
To make this recipe more versatile I omitted the garlic and the cheese. I was then able to use these tiny rolls for any kind of sandwich I wanted. The dough is very similar to what I used to use for cream puffs! It can be shaped to make little pita like pockets, too, and even an individual sized pizza crust. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This bread was wonderful. My mom's gluten intolerent and my family loved the recepie. I almost though that there was something wrong with the recipe because of the rubbery center but After looking around at the other reviews, I was relieve to find out after reading the review section that cooks from Brazil said that the rubbery texture was how it was supposed to turn out. It's definitely something to make again, though next time I'll reduce the amount of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Has a decent flavor, but there is something "interesting" about it. Maybe next time I'll add a different cheese or throw in some cheddar. It's never good when something tastes interesting. Maybe the flavor of the flour is coming through too well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I love this stuff! Be very careful not to over cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaconda, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I am from Minas Gerais and since I grew up having the convenience of finding these everywhere, I never bothered to learn how to make them. It took me moving to California to finally try making my own pão de queijo from scratch, so I tried this awesome recipe and it was absolutely perfect. On a personal note, I preferred to use the butter instead of olive oil, I tried both and found that one more authentic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This recipe is amazing. Tastes like the real pao de queijo from Minas Gerais, and is so simple to make. I am a Brazilian living in US for over 10 years and is the first time I made a sucessful pao de queijo,..all other recipes i have tried have been a failure so far, this one is easy and is just delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States