Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I tried many pao de queijo recipes and this one is the best. I do this recipe since a while now and my Brazilian friends approved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great recipe, you can omit garlic or add herbs if you want to be adventurous. If your batter ends up being runny, just scoop them into mini-muffin tins and they work just fine...and yes, the "rubbery" texture is normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I love this cheese bread. It is similar to the colombian Pan de Yuca. I'll post the recipe for it here, as well as some other traditional colombian "parva".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Really good recipe. Although i am not Brazilian and never been to Brazil, the bread tasted exactly as it does in my favorite Brazilian restaurant. I did NOT add the garlic (i prefer the taste of the butter and the cheese over the garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suskewiske
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
It was so easy to make. Everybody loves it! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Marowelli
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We have a Brazilian foreign exchange student living with us and I wanted to make her a taste of home. I only used 1 tsp of garlic, and mine had to bake for 25 minutes. She said they were PERFECT...exactly like at home. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Marowelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are gluten free and very cheap to make. They are rubbery inside but that is the fantastic part about them. They are actually chewy which is a hard texture to reproduce without gluten! I did omit garlic added twice the salt and you have got to let theses rest at least 10 minutes after the mixture is made. The longer you let it rest the puffier they get. ALSO its a good idea to bring everything to a boil then let it all completely cool add the eggs to the cooled liquid with the cheese and flour this way you only have to knead it once. Other wise it a pain to incorporate the dough into the eggs and cheese. You can use any soft cheese you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christad
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This did not work well for me. But I tried substituting flaxseed for the eggs, so that may be why. I will try again while following the recipe exactly and see what I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidhe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I'm also from Brazil and was craving for these. I LOVED it!!! I've made it countless times already and I keep getting asked for the recipe :) I did not use the garlic though, and used the oil instead of butter. Super easy to make, and fills me & my family with happiness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I love pao de queijo. As a brazilian I've had it every other day my entire life. This recipe is good but I made a few changes. I did not add olive oil or garlic because traditionally those ingredients are not used. As I am in the U.S.A. right now I had to use an alternate to the ''queijo de minas'', so I used cojita cheese because I think it's a pretty good replacement. The cojita cheese can be salty depending on the one you buy so be careful with how much salt you add. Overall it's good recipe and the paes de queijo turn out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States