Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Didn't make this with garlic. Tried it with a mini muffin pan and on just a baking sheet. Either way they puffed up just fine but held a more uniform shape with the muffin pan. Delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I lived in Brazil for several years and thought I would never again enjoy the real taste of pao de queijo. I assumed it was some super complicated grandma's secret with ingredients we don't have in the US. I was wrong. It took me four grocery stores, but I found the tapioca flour, and these turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
made it exactly as the recipe says minus, the garlic, and came out perfect and delicious, crispy on the outside, soft on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I grew up in Brazil. This is a great recipe but has one significant problem. The ingredients really need to be put into a blender, as the Brazilians do. Otherwise it is difficult for the ingredients to properly incorporate and you may find that your oil or butter does not adhere, but leaks out into the pan. Other than this I would give the recipe five stars. It is also simpler to mix in a blender, and you do not have to heat ingredients in a pan first. If you try substituting cheeses other than parmesan, make sure to use a dry cheese. Something moist like mozarella will not give the same result. I hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made these because my granddaughter eats gluten-free. However everyone likes them so much, they are now a regular menu item when the family comes over. They like them small and crunchy, so I have found that baking them in small muffin tins works out perfectly. Also, I bake them until well browned. They are delicious warm. I also add shredded cheddar cheese instead of parmesan, and sometimes I add chopped spinach as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
These are crispy on the outside, chewy in the middle, and a great vehicle for loads of butter. Most cheeses that can be shredded will work in the recipe, though the chewiness/dryness ratio in the final product varies depending on the type you use. With a newly developed gluten sensitivity and a longstanding passion for baking, I was ecstatic to find a no-hassle recipe that's so much like an English muffin, but even faster to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenica Sherman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I was dismayed that when I added the tapioca starch, a lot of the oil separated out, so I put it in an electric mixer and that made it better...although I suspect it doesn't matter. We absolutely loved these rolls, and it works fine to use garlic powder (1/4 tsp.) and parmesan cheese in a can, if you need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Just finished making this for my girl scouts to taste tonight. We are learning about Brazil for our national thinking day. They are VERY greasy! Rubbery on the inside. I did see a review that said they are supposed to be crisy on the outside and rubbery on the inside so I guess I will leave the recipe when I make them for thinking day but maybe LESS OIL -- I made them in a mini muffin tin and they are perfect two bite sized! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is wonderful! I have made it several times. It is best right out of the oven. I use butter, no garlic and twice the amount of Parmesan or Romano cheese. It ways turns out crisp and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Loved this recipe made it 2 times fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States