Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I love this stuff! Be very careful not to over cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaconda, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I am from Minas Gerais and since I grew up having the convenience of finding these everywhere, I never bothered to learn how to make them. It took me moving to California to finally try making my own pão de queijo from scratch, so I tried this awesome recipe and it was absolutely perfect. On a personal note, I preferred to use the butter instead of olive oil, I tried both and found that one more authentic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This recipe is amazing. Tastes like the real pao de queijo from Minas Gerais, and is so simple to make. I am a Brazilian living in US for over 10 years and is the first time I made a sucessful pao de queijo,..all other recipes i have tried have been a failure so far, this one is easy and is just delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I couldn't find tapioca flour at my near by grocery store so I substituted it with wheat flour. I mixed the ingredients together as suggested in the recipe but it seemed a bit runny so I added another cup of flour. All together the bread was delicious, but the texture of the bread ended up being more like a biscuit (with the wheat flour at least).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
The proportions in this recipe are off. 2 cups of tapioca flour resulted in soup--no way to make 1/4 cup size "balls." Plus, when it says mix will be chunky it is smooth, but where it says smooth it is chunky. The bottom line: Added another 1/2 cup of flour and still ended up with cheese flatbreads. Taste was not bad but the idea that this recipe results in fluffy "balls" is laughable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
So Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I had never made these before, but was looking for a gluten free bread recipe for my husband. I tried them a few days ago and they were delicious!! The flavor reminded me of the cheddar bay biscuits at Red Lobster. They were a little too dense, but that might have been my fault. I substitued apple sauce for the oil and only had brown rice flour. I agree with some of the other reviews to add more cheese and if you are a garlic lover like me, add more of it too. Thanks for the recipe and I will surely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Mmm, I love these!!! Next time I will use less oil/butter and more cheese. Still, they taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Madland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
We have been looking for a great Cheese bread recipe since 2 Brazilian restaurants we've been to that had these delectable munchies. The first was OK, but didn't have that unique flavor and spongy/gooey center quite right. In our 1st attempt on this recipe, they came out tastier than the restaurant ones. The garlic was a nice addition and the insides were perfect. The weird bubbly exterior also was exactly that unearthly fun look we were hoping for. This is the recipe you were looking for folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States