Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
It had a good flavor. The outside was good but the texture inside was stretchy, gooey, don't quite know how to explain it. Maybe substitute some rice flour or something for some of the tapioca next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennae Standing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This recipe must have been updated since some of the earlier comments were posted. My dough was very, very thick. I followed the directions exactly, but left out the garlic as I wanted a more traditional roll. They turned out great. I also made them smaller. I used eggs from the farmer's market, which have very yellow yolks, so my rolls turned out much "yellower".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanBeeTX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grady, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
The flavour was amazing, and made my house smell like cheese bread for hours, but mine did not cook like the photo shows, the outside cooked perfectly and inside remained a bit rubbery and clear - though still cooked. Recipe worked better with butter than oil for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liesa B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Mcneill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
love it!!! just added more cheese to it ( Queijo de Minas)... hmmmm... so gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renilde Maloney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Pao de Queijo, I can't believe I found a recipe for it. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I love this stuff. (Btw the super dense, rubbery, super flavor is intentional.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My husband grew up in Brazil, and he says these are just like the ones he used to eat there -- only much bigger. I made it mozzarella cheese. Next time I make it, I will make them maybe a quarter of the size the recipe suggested. That will also mean more of the yummy outside (I wasn't as big a fan of the rubbery inside, but my husband was!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I lived in Brazil, in the state that made this bread famous, for almost 5 years. I was so excited when I read the "bad" review that the bread was "rubbery." That is exactly the way it's supposed to be! Yeah! I did take out the garlic as that's not a normal thing for this bread, and I switched the ratio of water and oil as there was WAY too much oil in it. Overall, was great to find this recipe. My husband loves it and it helps with the home sickness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe turned out perfectly for luncheon today - crispy on the outside, almost creamy on the inside. My children loved it and decided it tastes like Cheetos only better! I used the exact proportions stated in the recipe but omitted the garlic because I wanted the cheese to predominate. If you don't let the dough rest 15 minutes before you put in the cheese and egg, it will be very runny like a crepe batter. Things I Did Differently: I used grape seed oil instead of olive oil and warmed the liquid ingredients in the microwave until a little white foam appeared on the top of the mixture. I did the rest of the mixing as instructed except I hand kneaded the dough a bit in the bowl to get a smoother mixture. I used the 1 & 1/2 inch scoop that I use to make drop cookies to put the dough on the cookie sheet. But then, I went back and rolled each little ball between my well-oiled hands to smooth them. I had to bake them a little longer, but then, my oven's always slow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I added probably another cup of flour because the batter was very runny and first they came out as little pancakes. Next time I will also add more cheese - I just think it could use more. Other than that, it tasted almost as good as the ones that our Brazilian friends make from store bought frozen cheese bread balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapmezciems, Tukums, Latvia
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I took some ideas from this recipe and another one. I put more milk and another egg. I also put a lot more (cheddar) cheese. I think the garlic gave it a good flavor, but it needs a little salt. It wasn't as good as I had in Brazil. I don't know if I did something wrong, but after it baked it flattened out instead of staying in the shape of balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States