Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Melissa Marowelli
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We have a Brazilian foreign exchange student living with us and I wanted to make her a taste of home. I only used 1 tsp of garlic, and mine had to bake for 25 minutes. She said they were PERFECT...exactly like at home. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Marowelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are gluten free and very cheap to make. They are rubbery inside but that is the fantastic part about them. They are actually chewy which is a hard texture to reproduce without gluten! I did omit garlic added twice the salt and you have got to let theses rest at least 10 minutes after the mixture is made. The longer you let it rest the puffier they get. ALSO its a good idea to bring everything to a boil then let it all completely cool add the eggs to the cooled liquid with the cheese and flour this way you only have to knead it once. Other wise it a pain to incorporate the dough into the eggs and cheese. You can use any soft cheese you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christad
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This did not work well for me. But I tried substituting flaxseed for the eggs, so that may be why. I will try again while following the recipe exactly and see what I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sidhe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I'm also from Brazil and was craving for these. I LOVED it!!! I've made it countless times already and I keep getting asked for the recipe :) I did not use the garlic though, and used the oil instead of butter. Super easy to make, and fills me & my family with happiness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I love pao de queijo. As a brazilian I've had it every other day my entire life. This recipe is good but I made a few changes. I did not add olive oil or garlic because traditionally those ingredients are not used. As I am in the U.S.A. right now I had to use an alternate to the ''queijo de minas'', so I used cojita cheese because I think it's a pretty good replacement. The cojita cheese can be salty depending on the one you buy so be careful with how much salt you add. Overall it's good recipe and the paes de queijo turn out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These were perfect! Nice and chewy on the inside just like our favorite Brazilian restaurant. Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding a little mozz cheese also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is the best recipe i've used to far! I would like to point out a few things to those who've had bad results: 1) heat the water/oil/milk to boiling then the tapioca will seize. 2) when it says to mix till smooth, think more like 10 mins + by hand or use a dough hook on a stand mixer for 3-4 mins...that will help the texture & the air bubbles form. 3) try a mix of parm & queso fresco for a nicer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Was delicious! Used butter per reviews from the Brazilians. Everything else I followed. I did make sure all the clumps of powder were gone before I baked it. It wasn't at all watery like some other reviews said. I was worried about that, and put each scoop in a mini muffin pan, but I think that made the bread more dense, and not as round. Hard to stop eating. Be careful. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Made again...this time using grapeseed oil and mozzarella cheese. Fantastic. Also I found that if you pour the hot oil/milk/water mixture into a bowl that has the tapioca flour in it already it's much easier to mix. Also only used 1 tsp of minced garlic. Also used my hands when adding egg and cheese. They turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fletcher, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States