Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I didn't know it was that easy to make pao de queijo, I love it. I think feta cheese works better then parmesan though. I also have tried with goat cheese and garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I am from Brazil and am so grateful to have found this recipe. A few changes to make it taste like the original dish: NO garlic whatsoever, real butter instead of oil and more cheese (about 2/3 cup more cheese). I like to add 1 cup of Italian blend shredded cheese and 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese. Now for beginner cooks like me: make sure all the butter is melted before adding the flour, the consistency of it will be way better ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zuzy
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This gluten-free bread recipe is amazing! It is simple to bake and ready in no time at all. The only changes I made were to use half butter half olive oil and mixture of parmesan and mozarella cheese. I forgot to add some herbs. I think adding some italian herbs will enhance the smell and taste. The garlicky and buttery taste complement very well. The bread is very crusty (oh so wonderful when you tease it apart) and the inside is a but gummy (expected as the main flour ingredient is tapioca). Perhaps next time I will substitute some of the tapioca flour with millet flour (for its cornmeal like texture. This recipe is definitely a keeper! I will rate it 4.5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geylang, East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I love this recipe! They are so chewy and satisfying. I have also made these with cheddar cheese instead of parm and they are equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Killer Carrot
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I thought these were great. My wife (Brazilian) didn't care for them much, said she'd never heard of anyone putting garlic in them before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I lived in Brazil with my husband for 3 months and ate alot of these. So I made Pao de Quijo yesterday with some modifications: I put just a bit of garlic because Brazilian Pao de Queijo doesn't smell like garlic. I am sure with garlic it's delicious, but I wanted authentic Brazilian bread. Also, I used veggie butter. If you are not vegetarian, use regular butter. I am not sure how it will come out with olive oil. I just know that our Brazilian housekeeper used butter when making bread. She was an awesome cook).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I tried many pao de queijo recipes and this one is the best. I do this recipe since a while now and my Brazilian friends approved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great recipe, you can omit garlic or add herbs if you want to be adventurous. If your batter ends up being runny, just scoop them into mini-muffin tins and they work just fine...and yes, the "rubbery" texture is normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I love this cheese bread. It is similar to the colombian Pan de Yuca. I'll post the recipe for it here, as well as some other traditional colombian "parva".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Really good recipe. Although i am not Brazilian and never been to Brazil, the bread tasted exactly as it does in my favorite Brazilian restaurant. I did NOT add the garlic (i prefer the taste of the butter and the cheese over the garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States