Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Oh my goodness, these little cheese balls were out of this world! A friend was making Brazilian Fish Stew and I made these as a side dish. I followed the recipe exactly except I used garlic salt , so glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Sometimes it turns out and sometimes it doesn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Awesome cheesy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
As a Celiac, I am always looking for something that resembles bread. I went to a Brazilian restaurant, and was told to try them. Labelled as "Tapioca Cheese Buns" I shied away - buns? I don't want to get sick in a restaurant. The waitress made me try them, and i fell in love! So I wanted to make them at home, and these are definitely even better than the ones in the restaurant! I have tried with mozza cheese, and cheddar, but parmesan is definitely the best tasting! I make these at least once a week since I have discovered them! Nom Nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it just didn't turn out well. I know it's supposed to be "gummy" in the middle, etc, but that's all it was. I expected it to be a little more risen and puffy than so dense. Next time will let it rest longer. Also, it doesn't have near enough cheese. It had no cheese flavor with just the 2/3 cup, next time I will add almost a cup. Last problem was the mixture was too thin, so when I rolled into balls and put on baking tray, they just spread out into pools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akaRibeiro
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This recipe was great! My husband is Brazilian from Minas Gerais and he thought this was so delicious. Just a couple of modifications: even though we LOVE garlic, it really doesn't need to go in the bread. It would have been better without. Could use a tad bit more salt. Also, a lot of other people said to reduce the oil, so we put 1/3 cup olive oil instead of 1/2 cup. They chewy or "rubbery" texture of them is completely normal and is how they are supposed to be. I may add a little mozzarella cheese or Brazilian cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Too greasy and flat. Will be looking for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ai Vy Nguyen
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
The bread turn out so good. My boyfriend said it taste like from the restaurant. The only thing I changed was adding a tablespoon of sugar and it still turn out a little salty. So I cannot imagine how it would turn out if I did not add any sugar. Over all good recipe. I would definitely make it again pretty soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made the balls slightly larger and mixed half butter half oil. They came out perfect! This time im going to try and reduce the oils and sub water for a tiny bit less guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States