Brazilian Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I am also Brazillian and I make this cake all the time. Yes the icing is supossed to be absorved by the cake. It makes it really moisty but ugly..lol.If you dont want to do that for the icing you can get a bag of unsweeten chocolate chips. Melt it in a pan with butter. careful not to burn and spead it on top. The unsweeten chips will break up the sweetness of the cake a bit so its not so overwhelming and it will stay on top and look pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Okay, I will try to update this when/if I ever try it again ... but my first foray into making this did not go well. Actually, it tasted great (hence the 4 stars), but it looked like ... well, not good. When I put the icing on, it just was absorbed by the cake. If it was supposed to that, then great! But it looked pretty miserable. I made it for my daughter's school - I was supposed to bring something South American. Most was gone before I left, but I figure it didn't look appetizing. It was really moist and easy to make, though. Like I said, I will update when/if I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
First of all...I am not from Brazil! I have never had this type of carrot cake and I made it as a lark. Secondly, I admit that I toyed with the recipe a bit. I didn't want a huge amount of cake around the house - so I cut the measurements by half and used an 8x8 pan instead of the 9x13 pan. I also added a couple of shakes of pumpkin pie spice and a dash of vanilla and a sprinkling of corriander. The only hot chocolate mix I had in the house was a blend called "Mayan" which means there was a bit of cinnamon and other spice to it. It turned out GREAT! I loved the gooeyness of the soaked in icing. I will use this recipe again as a base and I think the next time I will throw in some raisins and nuts and make a cream cheese glaze. Even though I think it is more than likely fantastic made just as ordered in the recipe - my experimentation leads me to think you could do all sorts of things to this recipe to change it up - very versatile. The texture is moist and rich and it is just DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUDGNIK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Good cake but I was disappointed that just like the other reviwer, the icing was absorbed, it looked weird but it tasted good. I'm also from Brazil and it has been probably over 10 years since I haven't had this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Yum, reminds of the time I spent in Brazil. I just couldn't get the chocolate on top right. I used unsweetened coco, perhaps I should have used something like Nestle Quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Yummy! Soft and moist, and a really lovely light orange color. I only had half the amount of milk, so could only make a half batch of the icing. I left out the sugar- I didn't think it needed any more than the cocoa mix already has! I used Ghiradelli's double chocolate cocoa mix. I can't wait to make this again with the entire amount of frosting- its SO good with the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I just loved! I'm from Brazil but I live in the US per 4 years now... and I'll tell you, was 4 years without a delicius carrot cake till today! Taste just like home! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I have Brazilian neighbors and they said this was better than her mothers! They couldn't get enough of it and ate the whole thing in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was a very good cake. I did succumb to putting vanilla and cinnamon in it. I made the right choice. It is pretty simple to make, so I will make it every time I have extra carrots around. The cake was soft and awesome, but the icing didn't turn out for me. I have to say, though, that this is the fist time I've made icing, so it might be me. Actually I found it didn't need icing after it cooled anyway because it had a nice semi-crisp top! My husband uses his coffee spoon to eat it with and just loves the taste combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
My room-mate, many years ago, was from Brazil and she made this cake. I loved it and sense then I've been trying to find the recipe. Thank you so much for posting this, it's just like I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States