Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Great recipe. Found it during an ingredient search of this site. Scaled it to 3 servings. Used Italian turkey/chicken sausage, leftover ham slices, chunks of yellow, red and orange peppers equivalent to a single bell pepper. Added another small chile pepper, another chopped garlic clove and about 1/2 can of rinsed red kidney beans. Took off heat and sprinkled with the juice of 1/2 lime just before serving. Added additional cilantro. Served this with warm tortillas and fresh fruit. I will be doing this one again, whenever I can get mangoes (difficult to get in rural Saskatchewan!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
WOW! I must admit, I was a bit skeptical about adding mangos to stew, but they were such a treat. This is probably the most flavorful stew I have ever had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
MMM - love it! Added some cumin as well as some chili sauce to make it spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Excellent Recipe! My wife and I really enjoyed the complex flavors and the different veggies in it. Tastes just as good, if not better, the next day. Also great with an ice cold lager!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
great recipe! I'm not a sweet potato fan, but my husband is. didn't really matter because all the flavors blended so well I couldn't tell I used a sweet potato. I didn't use meat substituted broth for water & added cumin, pepper & more garlic & doubled the mango. I think next time I'd reduce the liquid to 1 cup. definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlean May
Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was delicious. The different flavors and textures blended together perfectly. My boyfriend is from Brazil and he said he had never had anything like that at home but he still loved it and wants me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was fabulous! I used a medium serrano pepper, and it wasn't nearly spicy enough. I will go with a spicier pepper next time. Also, it turned out too "soupy." I will probably let it simmer uncovered next time. I omitted the chorizo and just used ham. It would be good without meat also. I served it with a dollop of fat-free sour cream, and next time I think I will bake some cornbread to go with it. This was truly fabulous though! Try it, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Wonderful stew. Very filling, very tasty. As a vegertarian, I omitted the ham and substituted the chorizio with "Soyrizo" a meatless soy chorizo. Simply wonderful! Served mine with a green salad and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Easy to cook and delicious! Even a non-cooking, single guy like myself could make it and enjoy it! Had to substitute Bob Evan's Spicy sausage for the chorizo (grocery didn't have any...) but it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Carlson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Excellent dish. I made mine without the meat and added some GOYA "Refrito" (in the Mexican cooking aisle)and extra cilantro. I served it with rice and chicken, sauteed with garlic and lime juice. A beautiful meal with plenty of leftovers which my boyfriend ate twice a day until it was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States