Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Easy to cook and delicious! Even a non-cooking, single guy like myself could make it and enjoy it! Had to substitute Bob Evan's Spicy sausage for the chorizo (grocery didn't have any...) but it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Carlson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Excellent dish. I made mine without the meat and added some GOYA "Refrito" (in the Mexican cooking aisle)and extra cilantro. I served it with rice and chicken, sauteed with garlic and lime juice. A beautiful meal with plenty of leftovers which my boyfriend ate twice a day until it was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
great recipe! I'm not a sweet potato fan, but my husband is. didn't really matter because all the flavors blended so well I couldn't tell I used a sweet potato. I didn't use meat substituted broth for water & added cumin, pepper & more garlic & doubled the mango. I think next time I'd reduce the liquid to 1 cup. definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This is ABSOLUTELY the BEST recipe I've ever tried from AllRecipes!!! For lack of black beans, I used canned chickpeas 50-50 with black beans. For lack of tomatoes, I used a jar of Barilla Rustica pasta sauce (my personal favorite mass-produced commercial pasta sauce). I speak Spanish and Portuguese but couldn't find "chorizo" sausage at the grocery store, so I just used hot/spicy lean Italian turkey sausage and didn't bother with the ham. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
We omitted the meat and I think it really would have been better with it. If you do omit the meat, though, it needs some spicing up. I see that another reviewer added some pepper and cumin-- that would have helped for sure. We used two mangos and more cilantro. Next time we might even use another mango-- the mango bites are the real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Great recipe. Found it during an ingredient search of this site. Scaled it to 3 servings. Used Italian turkey/chicken sausage, leftover ham slices, chunks of yellow, red and orange peppers equivalent to a single bell pepper. Added another small chile pepper, another chopped garlic clove and about 1/2 can of rinsed red kidney beans. Took off heat and sprinkled with the juice of 1/2 lime just before serving. Added additional cilantro. Served this with warm tortillas and fresh fruit. I will be doing this one again, whenever I can get mangoes (difficult to get in rural Saskatchewan!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was delicious. The different flavors and textures blended together perfectly. My boyfriend is from Brazil and he said he had never had anything like that at home but he still loved it and wants me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
WOW! I must admit, I was a bit skeptical about adding mangos to stew, but they were such a treat. This is probably the most flavorful stew I have ever had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
MMM - love it! Added some cumin as well as some chili sauce to make it spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States