Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Delicious, could possibly use more chorizo, it kind of gets lost but some great flavor combinations. My son was a little intimidated by all the colors in the pot. Overall, a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was good, but I wish it had more mango flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
No need for the black beans - sausage + sweet potatoes + whatever veggies you have around = awesomeness. Thanks for sharing, CRVGRL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Wow. This was fantastic even without the chorizo and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I doubled the sausage (omitted the ham), used fresh tomatoes (2 large), reduced to 1 can of beans (all i had, but i think it would have been too many beans anyway), frozen mango (cooked for 10 minutes more). I didn't have a chile pepper so i used 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper. I used chicken stock in place of the water so i didn't worry about salting it at the end. Flavors came together beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Fantastic! This seems like an odd combination of ingredients, but you must try it!! The only changes I made were to use veggie broth instead of water, frozen mango, added a tsp of roasted cumin and some fresh ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Just tried this yesterday. It was incredibly good, but I made a few adjustments. I used 1 1/2 cups dried brown lentils instead of black canned beans. I added them after frying the onion and garlic in oil. I increased water to 4 or 5 cups and boiled the lentils about 20 minutes, adding the diced green pepper and red pepper, fresh tomatoes instead of canned and spice and salt to the mix. After lentils were done, I added sweet potatoes and added a bit more water and let cook until done. I did not add meat or the mango due to finicky eaters, but it was still amazing! We loved it and made this way made for a great low fat meal served over long grain rice! Can't wait for lunch and leftovers! Thanks for the recipe. Will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This stew is AMAZING! I have made it multiple times for birthday parties, family events, potlucks - every time people RAVE about it and want the recipe. Its incredibly delicious - I love how the different flavors come together. Its best if you can make it in the morning and let it just sit all day, then reheat for supper! This is a winter staple for our household - thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Delicious! Great flavor, and visually appealing with all the colorful ingredients. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
i have made this a few times because my toddler loves it! i usually omit the meat or add whatever i have re: leftovers, and we don't miss it. double the mango and DEFINITELY use fresh cilantro. great, unique flavors, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States