Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Very good, but I agree with other reviews that it does need more seasoning. I also agree it needed more mangoes as well. I cooked this in a slow cooker and served it over plain couscous with a salad of greens topped with blueberries, sliced strawberries, crumbled blue cheese, and poppy seed dressing to keep the fruit theme going. The presentation was fantastic. I will definitely keep this is my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Tried this one evening and it was fantastic. My wife took it to work and shared with her fellow workers and they loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poof
Home Town: Deer Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This is a gorgeous stew!! We have small children, so I omitted the pepper, but my husband and I added sriracha to ours and agreed that it needed the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I made this for my book club, and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. The only change I made was using bacon instead of cooked ham, only because I already had some leftover in my fridge. This was so easy to make and so delicious with a hint of sweetness from the potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
It was really bland. I had to add, pepper, cumin, adobo, cayenne pepper, and more salt just bring out all the flavors of the ingredients. This recipe got alot of great reviews, however, Im part brazilian and part spanish, we prefer our dishes full of flavor and life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Was a great soup. I made it vegan by not adding the chorizo and ham and using vegan broth. Seemed like an odd mix with beans and mangoes, but it has a great tropical yet substantial taste. I brought it to a south american party and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I will put this in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Took a chance on this one....I've never had anything like this but since I liked all of the ingredients I thought why not? My husband loved it! I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was a bright and colorful stew that was delicious and easy to make. If you want a change of pace the sweet and savory combination is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I loved this. It was so simple to make but had tons of different flavors. It was a great escape from my usual chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this stew! The last time I made it, I decided to puree everything in the food processor add a little milk at the end and made a bisque. It is great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States