Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
1. Any recipe that calls for chorizo should specify Mexican or Spanish, because they are two very different things. Spanish chorizo is dry-cured and does not need to be cooked. Mexican chorizo is moist and must be cooked - and you wouldn't need oil to cook it in because it is very greasy. From the context I would say this recipe uses Spanish chorizo. 2. The number of servings is way off. I halved the recipe and did not add any of the meat, and yet it still made 5-6 servings. 3. If you are using a good, spicy chorizo sausage, this might not need any extra spices, but if you are making it with no meat, it does need more spice (I added cumin, black pepper, extra cilantro, and chipotle pepper.) 4. To make prep easier, I used Rotel tomatoes rather than separate canned tomatoes and chile peppers, and there is no need to peel sweet potatoes (lots of vitamins in the peel.) I can't speak to the authenticity of this recipe as a Brazilian dish, but without the meat it was quite healthy, tasty, easy, and different. I served it with quinoa cooked with beef broth, onions, and garlic. I will be making this again - would give it 3 1/2 stars, if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Really Good! Definitely took longer than 1/2 hour to chop all the veggies and meat, but that could just be me! I added the mango and cilantro to my dish at the end and offered my guests, but did not mix in once cooked. Also at end, I added salt, pepper, garlic powder, and oregano. It was too bland without it. Fantastic the next day- will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This was a nice switch to the typical beef stew. A lot of different flavors coming through. I thought the only negative was there was maybe too much diced tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I love this recipe. I've made it several times and it always turns out flavorful and beautiful. Last time I made it, I had leftover chicken to get rid of so made substituted the chicken for the ham - still delicious. this is a great stew to make if you want something warm and cozy but will still impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This black bean stew is absolutely delicious. I was attracted to this recipe because of all the colourful fruit and veggies. The flavour is unbelievably fantastic! Apart from the chorizo sausage, garlic and hot pepper, I put no seasonings in this stew, yet it had a very satisfying complex flavour. It really didn't even need salt. The colour of the dish made it feel like a celebration! Appearance is everything to me and this certainly didn't disappoint. My husband enjoyed this too. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I can't believe I forgot to rate this earlier. The first time I made this I didn't add any meat. Meatless Monday you know. It was excellent didn't even miss the meat. I made this this time for my Husbands game dinner, and added venison instead of the sausage. from what he told me everyone really liked it, and talked about how well the tropical fruit blended with the chili peppers and hotness, for a truly unique flavor. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Followed the advice of others and added frozen mango when no fresh mangoes were available. The mango was very good with it, we were glad we added the whole bag. We used 10 oz. of soy chorizo, ommitted the ham, and replaced the chilie with a small can of green chilies. It was a bit on the spicy side for us with these changes, but we prefer mild food, so others may like it that way. We'll definitely be making this again, and will be sure to try it with ham next time. This also made far more than six servings for us-we had to switch everything to a big stock pot partway through, but we had a large sweet potato, so that probably changed the portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mieander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe! My picky husband, who doesn't normally eat sweet potatoes loved it! I tried to cut calories so I used a little Pam instead of cannola oil, drained the sausage grease and wiped the grease out of the pan with paper towels before returning it and adding the onions. The stew is so flavorful and the mango and the cilantro at the end add a freshness and pop the flavor. Also, I cooked my beans rather than using canned beans. Just boiled them in plain water again to minimize calories and to avoid canned food whenever I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This recipe is near perfect, but it needs a bit more flavor. I added a tablespoon of cumin and used chicken stock instead of water. I brought it to a dinner party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Frozen mango worked well at end of recipe. Made meatless. It was great with fresh bread from Corropolease Bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglassville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States