Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I really liked this due to the simplicity of this recipe. I used soy chorizo and added cumin, chili powder, corriander and paprika and ommitted the ham. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
For full flavor, you must use chorizo and I used a little more; did not use the canola oil, just cooking spray and used some green bell with the red to add color and for the hot pepper used 1 serrano and a very small home-grown poblano that had some heat. I also added a little more salt, black pepper to taste and about 3/4-1 tsp cumin and a spice blend called Magic Dust. Noting another reviewer's comment, I also opted for frozen mango. This is a very flavorful stew that I liked a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is a yummy, versitile dish, with or without meat. I'v made this multiple times, and even substituted Portuguese sausage for Chorizo. The flavors blended perfectly....it was WONDERFUL! (P.S. you could even substitute Okinawan Sweet Potato, and have a Brazillian-Okinawan fusion dish that looks and tastes incredible as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
1. Any recipe that calls for chorizo should specify Mexican or Spanish, because they are two very different things. Spanish chorizo is dry-cured and does not need to be cooked. Mexican chorizo is moist and must be cooked - and you wouldn't need oil to cook it in because it is very greasy. From the context I would say this recipe uses Spanish chorizo. 2. The number of servings is way off. I halved the recipe and did not add any of the meat, and yet it still made 5-6 servings. 3. If you are using a good, spicy chorizo sausage, this might not need any extra spices, but if you are making it with no meat, it does need more spice (I added cumin, black pepper, extra cilantro, and chipotle pepper.) 4. To make prep easier, I used Rotel tomatoes rather than separate canned tomatoes and chile peppers, and there is no need to peel sweet potatoes (lots of vitamins in the peel.) I can't speak to the authenticity of this recipe as a Brazilian dish, but without the meat it was quite healthy, tasty, easy, and different. I served it with quinoa cooked with beef broth, onions, and garlic. I will be making this again - would give it 3 1/2 stars, if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Really Good! Definitely took longer than 1/2 hour to chop all the veggies and meat, but that could just be me! I added the mango and cilantro to my dish at the end and offered my guests, but did not mix in once cooked. Also at end, I added salt, pepper, garlic powder, and oregano. It was too bland without it. Fantastic the next day- will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This was a nice switch to the typical beef stew. A lot of different flavors coming through. I thought the only negative was there was maybe too much diced tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I love this recipe. I've made it several times and it always turns out flavorful and beautiful. Last time I made it, I had leftover chicken to get rid of so made substituted the chicken for the ham - still delicious. this is a great stew to make if you want something warm and cozy but will still impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This black bean stew is absolutely delicious. I was attracted to this recipe because of all the colourful fruit and veggies. The flavour is unbelievably fantastic! Apart from the chorizo sausage, garlic and hot pepper, I put no seasonings in this stew, yet it had a very satisfying complex flavour. It really didn't even need salt. The colour of the dish made it feel like a celebration! Appearance is everything to me and this certainly didn't disappoint. My husband enjoyed this too. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I can't believe I forgot to rate this earlier. The first time I made this I didn't add any meat. Meatless Monday you know. It was excellent didn't even miss the meat. I made this this time for my Husbands game dinner, and added venison instead of the sausage. from what he told me everyone really liked it, and talked about how well the tropical fruit blended with the chili peppers and hotness, for a truly unique flavor. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Followed the advice of others and added frozen mango when no fresh mangoes were available. The mango was very good with it, we were glad we added the whole bag. We used 10 oz. of soy chorizo, ommitted the ham, and replaced the chilie with a small can of green chilies. It was a bit on the spicy side for us with these changes, but we prefer mild food, so others may like it that way. We'll definitely be making this again, and will be sure to try it with ham next time. This also made far more than six servings for us-we had to switch everything to a big stock pot partway through, but we had a large sweet potato, so that probably changed the portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mieander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States