Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Seriouly people, soy or chicken chorizo? You have hit the WRONG recipe my friend! Do not... Repeat... Do NOT omit the chorizo or ham from this recipe. This is where the flavor is! There are plenty of recipes from the "Moosewood Lodge Vegetarian" cookbook that will please. Just don't mess with this sweet baby. If your sorry mangoes (ahem, southern US) are all you have, simply double the hard mangoes and stew with the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I just omitted the chili pepper and my 20-month old loved it! So did everyone else in my house! It's a perfect mix of sweet and savory. Thank you for the recipe! It did take an hour to make, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I was so looking forward to this stew but in the end it is bland and surprisingly lacks flavor. Kick up the spices (garlic, cumin, chili powder, S/P) on this one and add a little acid such as a squeeze of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made a vegetarian version and it was delicious! My substitutions: pinto instead of black beans; frozen instead of fresh mangos; and fresh tomatoes instead of canned. I also added chili powder. You get a lot less calories without the meat and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Ailman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is awesome! Whole family loves it and our South American friends loved it too when we served it at half time of the opening World Cup game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Really delicious. Made without meat. High school kids liked it very much. I used frozen mango, canned chopped green chilis (mild) instead of chopping a chili pepper, added 1 can of vegetable stock in place of 15 oz of the water, and added cumin, chili powder, and a bit more salt. I quadrupled the recipe for a carnival and used 2 six quart stock pots to prepare. To serve at the carnival, I kept the soup warm in 2 large crock pots. It made about 100 servings and it was completely gone. Thanks for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I left out the potatoes, added rice. I was out of black beans, so I subbed in black eyed peas. Topped with a little cheddar cheese...amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Living In: Wellston, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Made this for a prostart community dinner with different countries. Things were hectic and we lost the mangos but it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was VERY tasty. I added a bit of cumin and curry powder and skipped the chile pepper so it wouldn't be too spicy for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly BiGolly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Holy cow I think this is my new favorite soup! Great blend of flavors. I make a few modifications only because of what I have (or rather, don't have). I generally don't have ham so I just omit and double the sausage. I also generally don't have a green chilly pepper so I just substitute 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper. I know it's probably not quite the same flavor but it seems to work. I use frozen mangoes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States