Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is one of our families FAVs! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Delicious. Made a few tweaks. No oil, no salt. Added 1tbsp cumin. Frozen mango. Jalepenos. Crowd PLEASER! Served with flour tortillas and cilantro lime rice. Sautéed kale and collards to round out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Loved it! I tend to be a bit generous with my garlic, and added a dash of cumin as well. Since I was low on ham, I added extra chorizo. Smells wonderful - my coworkers were jealous walking into the break-room when I brought it in for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nantru
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is not a recipe I would make again. It was beautiful to look at and ok tasting for one meal, but I ended up throwing the leftovers away. There was just too much sweetness with the mango and sweet potato and not enough complexity of flavors. It needs more spices and would also probably be better without the meat, which doesn't add much flavor and takes away from the freshness of all the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very good. Wanted to keep going back for more but after 3 bowls, I was too full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I found this after I searched for the ingredients ham and sweet potatoes. I had lots of leftover ham from Christmas. I made it without the mangos or cilantro. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaLR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! For those who said it was bland when they left out the chorizo and ham, all I can say is DUH! The chorizo and ham make this dish. I purchased "Denmark Chorizo" from the butcher at Safeway. I was confused by the "chopped" chorizo, as chorizo tends to be a bulk sausage, so it's more like crumble instead of chopped. I browned it first and then added the ham. I don't think you need a tablespoon of oil, as chorizo has a lot of fat in it. I just loved all the flavors in this dish, even though I was skeptical of the mango. The sweet potatoes took much longer than 15 minutes to soften, but it was well worth the extra time. I followed the recipe, but I used a Serrano pepper as the "small hot green chile." Next time, I will try the frozen mango as some reviewers suggested, as peeling and cubing the mango was quite time consuming. I did add some paprika and cumin, as some reviewers suggested, and I left out the salt at the end but added Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle seasoning instead. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
i skipped the black beans (I was out) and used jalapenos and was pleasantly suprised. will definately make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was a great recipe. I used Hillshire farms smoked sausage (turkey) and ham. Actually, you did not really need any meat. I doubled to tripled the spices. I brought it to a work pot luck and everyone loved it. It will definitely be in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was fantastic! I did follow the advice to spice it up with cayenne and cumin and added pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States