Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Great recipe. I used diced tomatoes with chiles instead of using the chili pepper. I also topped with sour cream which really added flavor and omitted the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Delicious! Skipped the ham and used extra chorizo (about 1/2 pound total). I'm not good at chopping, so I needed extra time for that, but once I got past that it was smooth sailing. Keeps pretty well as leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Awesome! I've made this several time and its great each time. My kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Great combination of flavors. Even my picky eater ate it. It looks great to just serve with the mango and then cilantro sprinkled on top. I used turkey chorizo to cut the fat and didn't add any salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
this was really good food!!! i am so glad we have leftovers!!!! the only thing i changed was the meat. Instead of using sausage and ham i had pork rips and beef roast. I cooked everything in the slow cooker, added sweet potatos 20 min. before the end and mango, beans and cilantro 5 minutes before the meal was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This has become quite the family favorite! It is so colorful and really qualifies as a healthy comfort food. Great for leftovers! My changes: Light turkey Italian sausage instead of chorizo, 2 lbs of sweet potatoes, 2 mangoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was awesome (however...I made a few changes based on some of the other reviews and my own additions). I used boneless ham (leftover from Christmas dinner) and polish kielbasa (cubed) I took 3 cans of drained black beans, 2 cans of rotel, 3 cups of water, grilled onions (chopped) garlic (from jar), big cubes (1-1.5 inches) of regular russet potatoes - uncooked but peeled) 2 cubes of chicken boullion (I had the kind mixed with tomatoes), and I cut up 1 mango into slices. After grilling onions...throw everything in a big pot and cook until potatos are DONE. OUTSTANDING. My kids loved it and it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I made my first batch for the fire line during fire season. The firemen ate every drop; there just was not enough. I then made this at a family reunion camping trip. I used a big canning pot; enough for 26 people. There was no left overs everyone from the oldest to the youngest grandchild ate every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was excellent. I was trying to find a kosher version for Brazilian Black Bean Stew and had no success. I used chicken chorizo and turkey ham, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written and found all the flavors to go incredibly well together. The only thing I would do differently next time is increase the cook time by simmering on low for an additional hour to give time for the flavors to meld a bit more. Otherwise, you may find the reheated leftovers are actually better than the first serving. We will definitely make again, and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States