Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
When I make this recipe my and tell my friends about it, they think it seems like an odd combination of ingredients/flavors. Then I bring them some to try. Everyone I've made it for, loves it! It's one of my favorite things to make in the winter months and I'm really glad I stumbled upon it here looking for more creative things to make with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathon Repholz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Absolutely amazing. Best recipe I have ever gotten from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Solman Bergman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia
Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This stew has a great taste and wow'd everyone that tried it. My one knocking point is that it didn't have much of a kick. I added some Cumin, Tabasco, and Paprika and that did just the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Muleski
Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This recipe was excellent! I made a modified version with the following substitutions: 1. Omitted ham and chorizo, used 2 links of smoked turkey sausage. 2. Subbed a 15 oz. can of pumpkin for the sweet potato 3. Used a large can of diced tomatoes and a small can of diced chiles. 4. Used stock instead of water. 5. Added paprika, cumin, and black pepper. 6. Garnished with lime. While I agree with a previous reviewer that it needed more spice, I suspect that had I used the chorizo from the original recipe, I probably wouldn't have felt that way. If you're expecting to have leftovers, I would not add the cilantro to the pot of chili, but rather would use it as a garnish (with lime... yum!). That way, when you reheat the leftovers, you still get that fresh cilantro taste. As good as this was, I think next time I will be adding the chorizo and ham in, though maybe in lesser quantities. As good as this is, I can see how the spice from the chorizo and the smokiness from the ham would really give this dish much more depth and complexity. If you're avoiding these ingredients to make the dish "healthier," I think you'll still find it very satisfying, but adding it a small amount of the meats is worth it to take this dish from GREAT to WOW. This pot is going to be my lunch at work for the week. Thinking I'm going to make a pot of brown rice to serve it over. Delicious! This one's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
So yummy! Made it without the meat and it was still very hearty. Had to cook it for about 30 minutes to get the sweet potatoes done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I thought this tasted very good. I wish i could give it a 4.5, since it tasted great at the end. I gave it a 4, because I pretty much followed the recipe (minus the meat, since we don't like to eat too much meat in this house, and the review says it can be made w/o meat and still taste good). When it was done, it had some good base taste, but was really really really needing spices. Usually if I have to just add a few extra spices, I give it a 5. But this time, I felt like I had to take a lot more time adding more, to make it taste really good. OK, what I did: I used some chicken broth instead of water (i had some leftover broth lying in the fridge). I added extra fresh garlic. I put in extra chili pepper. I put in extra mango & cilantro. I had to add extra salt & pepper, garlic powder. I added some lemon juice and cumin. I really felt it needed all of the extra spices. But the end product, after all these additions, was a very yummy & healthy dinner. I used fresh made black beans. And I served it on top of cooked barley. I will definitely do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I have made this a couple of times and I am finally getting it where I want it to be. By the books this recipe is very very bland. The texture is fantastic, but the lack of flavor makes this meal seem only halfway there. The problem is that you need to add flavor without upsetting the balance of texture. I have decreased the water to 3/4 cup, upped the garlic, added cumin, added black pepper. This has resulted in a recipe that tastes as good as it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chip Dunning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hebron, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
My boyfriend loves this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was interesting, but I didn't love it the way I thought I would. It is healthy (I did not add the meat and cut down on the oil.) Maybe it just really needed the meat to give it more flavour. Not popular with my family either. Perfectly ok soup but didn't wow me and I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This recipe turns out great every time. We don't eat much meat so I just leave it out - still yummy. I use two mangoes, and always put hot sauce on the table for people that like extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States