Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This recipe turns out great every time. We don't eat much meat so I just leave it out - still yummy. I use two mangoes, and always put hot sauce on the table for people that like extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This made nearly 5 quarts and was quite satisfying. I really like that it uses so many veggies and even fruit to boot! I didn't use any salt since the sausage had plenty in it. I usually use chicken broth in place of water, but I did not do that this time and it turned out so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Fantastic dish. but would add more chorizo and ham. Also, another pepper. Family loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I was skeptical about this recipe at first, but it turned out great. I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Easy to make. Very tasty. I have made it with and without the Mangos. Both ways are very good. I replaced the ham with bacon once and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by No Quintic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was outstanding! The flavor of the sauce it makes is awesome. I had a big bag of frozen sweet potato fries I needed to use up. I made the following substitutions: chicken broth and sherry instead of water, ham & bacon for the meats, a can of ranch beans instead of black (this gave it the little zing that some reviewers missed), I did not use the chili pepper, I simmered it for over an hour. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is one of our new favorites - all those different flavors and textures! And so packed with veggies (to balance out the sausage and ham, I guess!) Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellenisland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This stew was fabulous! I served it to my child care and most of them ate it up. I did not use the chili pepper, I needed it to be mild. I used frozen mango, so the mango was a bit squishy which my husband didn't like. He also doesn't like canned tomatoes, so I used a can of pasta sauce instead. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
a good stew. make sure to use spanish chorizo, not mexican, or else it'll disintegrate. i used more meat and less beans, because that's what was available. added paprika, comino, and black pepper to taste. i also replaced the water with broth. this one was a winner; good for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was wonderful. I didn't have black beans or mangos, so I substituted using kidney beans and a small can of cubed peaches with no sugar. It didn't seem to matter because the stew tasted absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States