Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I made this for a recipe group of 6 women who have met for over 9 years. It was a hit. I thought the taste was so unusual and so wonderful I will cook this often. My husband was not crazy about it for the lack of meat so I will add more meat to his portion. One of the best recipes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This stew was excellent. My roomates are veg so I added soy chorizo instead of meat... it was excellent. I had to add in another can of diced tomatoes because I think my sweet potatoes were a little over a pound. I also needed to let the stew simmer for an extra 15 minutes to make sure the veggies were cooked all the way. Excellent recipe, I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This surprised me as I do not tend to like sweet potatoes or black beans. I made this for a class project for my Brazilian Portuguese class and it was a hit! (even with the native Brazilians there for our oral conversation exam)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bkread2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I tried this recipe, subsituting the Chorizo with SOY Chorizo to cut back on the fat.. I did Not add the ham because I didn't have any on hand... but soon found out I did not need it.. This recipe was absolutely delcious..I don't even like Sweet Potato's.. My husband wants me to add a little whole kernal corn to it the next time.. This one is a KEEPER..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Lou

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Don't leave anything out! It is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeeclester

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made this without meant and it was so delicious! I had a ton of sweet potatoes left over from Thanksgiving and thought this looked interesting and it was suprisingly much better than I thought it was going to be. Now a staple dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I am always looking for new and different. This recipe was totally awesome. I even made it for our end of the season tailgate and it was a huge hit. I've shared this recipe with many people. You must TRY IT . . . you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
We really like this dish, it just needed more mango:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Loved this one. Used a 10 oz bag of frozen mango, thawed, omitted the ham, and used some Italian sausage I had on hand instead of the chorizo, and it worked great- very adaptable. I think chicken would also work well in this recipe if that's all you have. I strongly recommend saving the effort of dealing with fresh mango as the frozen worked quite well. I'll make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States