Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was a very tasty and filling stew, but as written it is a bit bland. I am a vegetarian so I left out the meat. I had some veggie broth I needed to use up so I used that instead of water. Adding 3/4 tsp. of cumin to this dish really turns it into a 5 star recipe. I love how easy this is to put together and the fact that I can serve this on its own with a small side salad for a healthy lunch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is a great anytime soup and so easy to put together. My husband and I really enjoyed it and the flavor is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Adults thought this was great...Kids not so much...but that's kids for you..picky. We will be making this again..kids can eat PB & J that night..lol. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Lindsey Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Nice blend of flavours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is an amazing and unique recipe! Thanks for sharing. Exactly what I come to this site for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJBeefStroganoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Delicious! I added a bit of cumin, but other than that I didn't change a thing. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I really loved this stew. It was easy to make, and if you substitute regular pork for the ham/sausage it's actually very affordable. The recipe does lack spices though, so I added a mixture of black pepper, paprika and allspice. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnChicago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
It was an interesting mix of flavors. My husband didn't care for it at all. He's pretty traditional in his tastes and didn't like fruit in his stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Wonderful smells from the kitchen! I'm serving it over quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vagabondbettie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I used chicken andouille sausage instead of chorizo and omitted the ham. The flavors in this stew are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States