Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I make this all the time, but I make it meatless. Meat is expensive when you are paying off law school :-) I use chicken broth instead of water to give it a bit more flavor. It's cheap, easy, and freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was delicious! I was looking for something "different" and ran across this recipe. Easy to make and tasted fantastic! Leftovers were even better. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I probably should not review this stew, since I made a lot of changes. However my husband loved it and I wanted to thank CRVGRL for the inspiration of this dish. I was looking for a pantry meal, a way to use up what I already had on hand so here are my changes: I used smoked sausage instead of chorizo or ham. Acorn squash (instead of sweet potatoes) + one russet potato. 1 can dice tomatoes + 1/2 rotel (tomatoes w/ chiles). 1 can black bean (I would have like two cans if I had them on hand) Omitted the water, to keep stew thick. And left out the mango, since I didn't have anyone on hand either. Add Lots of cilantro. Still turned out DELICIOUS. I will try to make the recipe as written and revise my review at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great mix of ingredients and what a great tasting and fulfilling Stew. Make sure you use actual sweet potatoes and not yams. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danfox7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Excellent dish. I also made it without the meat and am quite impressed. The recipe does not take long to prepare, and produces a huge amount of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have never used chorizo before but I have been seeing it in a lot of recipes recently - time to give it a try! I was able to find an authentic looking hispanic brand. These sausages were in thick casings with metal clasps on each end. The normal grocery store brand looked nothing like this. I sauteed the sausage meat with the diced ham without adding additional oil, though it did seem like it needed a few teaspoons. By the time I added in the potatoes, veggies and beans, the sausage seemed to totally evaporate, leaving only the spices. Without those spices (similiar to the canned adobo sauce with the chipotle peppers), this stew would have been very bland. You could definitely leave out the ham, as I could not taste it at all, but if you leave out the chorizo, you will be throwing in some additional flavorings. My health conscious husband loved this as it was loaded with veggies, and light on the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Sorry... but I've lived in Brazil, and my wife is Brazilian, and we both agree that there is absolutely nothing Brazilian about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very similiar to a Vegetarian Times recipe, minus the meat...it was a tad too sweet for me with the sweet potatoes and mango, but the crowd I served it to enjoyed it immensely. Next time I may use beef broth instead of water to help make it more savory and use a smaller mango. Thank you CRVGRL for posting this recipe! I did take your suggestion to serve it with a spinach salad...the Bermuda Spinach Salad (on this site) minus the meat, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was amazing! Changes I made: slow cooked a pork roast with paprika, cayenne pepper, cumin, and apple cider vinegar. Added the shredded pork and a little of the juices instead of the ham. The spices were perfect. Also used 1 jar of mango salsa as a sub for 1 can of tomatoes and the mango. Served on lime cilantro basmati rice. Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States