Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very similiar to a Vegetarian Times recipe, minus the meat...it was a tad too sweet for me with the sweet potatoes and mango, but the crowd I served it to enjoyed it immensely. Next time I may use beef broth instead of water to help make it more savory and use a smaller mango. Thank you CRVGRL for posting this recipe! I did take your suggestion to serve it with a spinach salad...the Bermuda Spinach Salad (on this site) minus the meat, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was amazing! Changes I made: slow cooked a pork roast with paprika, cayenne pepper, cumin, and apple cider vinegar. Added the shredded pork and a little of the juices instead of the ham. The spices were perfect. Also used 1 jar of mango salsa as a sub for 1 can of tomatoes and the mango. Served on lime cilantro basmati rice. Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was a very tasty and filling stew, but as written it is a bit bland. I am a vegetarian so I left out the meat. I had some veggie broth I needed to use up so I used that instead of water. Adding 3/4 tsp. of cumin to this dish really turns it into a 5 star recipe. I love how easy this is to put together and the fact that I can serve this on its own with a small side salad for a healthy lunch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is a great anytime soup and so easy to put together. My husband and I really enjoyed it and the flavor is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Adults thought this was great...Kids not so much...but that's kids for you..picky. We will be making this again..kids can eat PB & J that night..lol. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Lindsey Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Nice blend of flavours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is an amazing and unique recipe! Thanks for sharing. Exactly what I come to this site for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJBeefStroganoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Delicious! I added a bit of cumin, but other than that I didn't change a thing. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I really loved this stew. It was easy to make, and if you substitute regular pork for the ham/sausage it's actually very affordable. The recipe does lack spices though, so I added a mixture of black pepper, paprika and allspice. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnChicago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
It was an interesting mix of flavors. My husband didn't care for it at all. He's pretty traditional in his tastes and didn't like fruit in his stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States