Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Delicious! I added a bit of cumin, but other than that I didn't change a thing. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I really loved this stew. It was easy to make, and if you substitute regular pork for the ham/sausage it's actually very affordable. The recipe does lack spices though, so I added a mixture of black pepper, paprika and allspice. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnChicago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
It was an interesting mix of flavors. My husband didn't care for it at all. He's pretty traditional in his tastes and didn't like fruit in his stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Wonderful smells from the kitchen! I'm serving it over quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vagabondbettie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I used chicken andouille sausage instead of chorizo and omitted the ham. The flavors in this stew are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I've been using allrecipes.com for years and this is the first review I have ever written. I thought this stew was absolutely DELICIOUS. I omitted the ham and replaced the chorizo with soyrizo to make it vegetarian. I also added a little cumin and upped the green chile pepper because I like my food spicy. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and thought this was amazing. It's not for everyone (my sister doesn't like sweet mixed with savory), but if the ingredients sound like something you'd be interested in, definitely give it a try! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arual11186
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Loved it! Though I made some adjustments. I had one can of diced tomato on hand so I used less liquid. Used a bit of water and one can of chicken broth. Skipped the mango and cilantro. With these moderations I felt there was a bit too much liquid so next time I will use two cans of diced tomato (love tomato) and will drain one of the liquid. skip the water and use half a can of chicken broth. I felt the stew was more soupy than "stewy". It was like a chunky stew. Otherwise I will definitely ABSOLUTELY make this again. Oh and I will use beef next time see how that turns out. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that you can make anyway you choose really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Excellent! I omit the ham and use soy chorizo and it's a wonderful vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THATISSO8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Great dish. For large gatherings, I make two batches simultaneously, one with more meat, the other without any. Vegetarians and kids who don't like anything spicy are happy with one, meat and spice lovers the other. Cut up everything in advance, buy some bread, make some lemonade, and you're at the table stress free in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States