Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Was a great soup. I made it vegan by not adding the chorizo and ham and using vegan broth. Seemed like an odd mix with beans and mangoes, but it has a great tropical yet substantial taste. I brought it to a south american party and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I will put this in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Took a chance on this one....I've never had anything like this but since I liked all of the ingredients I thought why not? My husband loved it! I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was a bright and colorful stew that was delicious and easy to make. If you want a change of pace the sweet and savory combination is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I loved this. It was so simple to make but had tons of different flavors. It was a great escape from my usual chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this stew! The last time I made it, I decided to puree everything in the food processor add a little milk at the end and made a bisque. It is great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Krieger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
We replaced the chorizo with andouille sausage and it worked great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reneedawn
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was an okay recipe. It definitley isn't bland or needing spice, as some others reviewed. I think if you start with a good quality chorizo it's a good flavor base. Fresh mango could almost be used as a generous garnish, just to not lose the freshness of it. But overall it's very tomato flavored and it really overpowers the other flavors. I am hoping the leftovers will have time to mellow out and it will taste more balanced tomorrow. Especially because it made a TON of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was fantastic! I love the fact of so many fresh ingredients. I used turkey sausage links diced, because we don't eat pork. And I did add some cumin, paprika, and some chili powder to spice it up. Was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was incredible. I skipped the ham, used a Serrano pepper, 1/4 teaspoon of cumin and served it with fresh flour tortillas and pan fried cotija cheese. I crumbled a little cotija cheese into mine too. Can't wait to see what the leftovers taste like. I bet it will taste even better! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Completely, utterly, 100% delicious. I used jarred mango, all my store had. The fresh mangos were rock hard, take forever to ripen and are soft about 15 minutes before they rot. Next time, I'll use frozen mango for a little better texture. Why is it someone always feels the need to give a recipe 1 star for not being "authentic?" I have no idea about the intracies of Brazilian cuisine, but don't miss out on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States