Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I made this for my book club, and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. The only change I made was using bacon instead of cooked ham, only because I already had some leftover in my fridge. This was so easy to make and so delicious with a hint of sweetness from the potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
It was really bland. I had to add, pepper, cumin, adobo, cayenne pepper, and more salt just bring out all the flavors of the ingredients. This recipe got alot of great reviews, however, Im part brazilian and part spanish, we prefer our dishes full of flavor and life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Was a great soup. I made it vegan by not adding the chorizo and ham and using vegan broth. Seemed like an odd mix with beans and mangoes, but it has a great tropical yet substantial taste. I brought it to a south american party and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I will put this in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Took a chance on this one....I've never had anything like this but since I liked all of the ingredients I thought why not? My husband loved it! I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was a bright and colorful stew that was delicious and easy to make. If you want a change of pace the sweet and savory combination is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I loved this. It was so simple to make but had tons of different flavors. It was a great escape from my usual chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this stew! The last time I made it, I decided to puree everything in the food processor add a little milk at the end and made a bisque. It is great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Krieger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
We replaced the chorizo with andouille sausage and it worked great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reneedawn
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was an okay recipe. It definitley isn't bland or needing spice, as some others reviewed. I think if you start with a good quality chorizo it's a good flavor base. Fresh mango could almost be used as a generous garnish, just to not lose the freshness of it. But overall it's very tomato flavored and it really overpowers the other flavors. I am hoping the leftovers will have time to mellow out and it will taste more balanced tomorrow. Especially because it made a TON of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was fantastic! I love the fact of so many fresh ingredients. I used turkey sausage links diced, because we don't eat pork. And I did add some cumin, paprika, and some chili powder to spice it up. Was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States