Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I did a little variation of this, but it was super delicious--great combo of flavors. I used a slice or two of bacon and a diced chicken breast rather than the chorizo and ham. Added chili powder and chipotle chili flakes instead of the green chile (but used diced toms with chiles) to add a little flavor. Used frozen mango like others and that worked well. Increased the garlic and added a spoonful of better than bouillon (chicken). Very yummy and warming on a cold winter day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
REALLY bland. A good base, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Simply amazing. I used a little less water and it came out thick like I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Made a half version to try. I had tomatoes that needed to be used, so I subbed those for the canned. I used chicken stock in place of the water. I also added a peeled, chopped carrot. No mango on hand so had to forego that. Not much thickness to the broth, but after a day or so in the fridge, it was great served over rice. Also, I had some turkey kielbasa on hand which I pan-fried and served with it. Yummy! Thanks CRVGRL, a very good and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Seriouly people, soy or chicken chorizo? You have hit the WRONG recipe my friend! Do not... Repeat... Do NOT omit the chorizo or ham from this recipe. This is where the flavor is! There are plenty of recipes from the "Moosewood Lodge Vegetarian" cookbook that will please. Just don't mess with this sweet baby. If your sorry mangoes (ahem, southern US) are all you have, simply double the hard mangoes and stew with the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I just omitted the chili pepper and my 20-month old loved it! So did everyone else in my house! It's a perfect mix of sweet and savory. Thank you for the recipe! It did take an hour to make, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I was so looking forward to this stew but in the end it is bland and surprisingly lacks flavor. Kick up the spices (garlic, cumin, chili powder, S/P) on this one and add a little acid such as a squeeze of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made a vegetarian version and it was delicious! My substitutions: pinto instead of black beans; frozen instead of fresh mangos; and fresh tomatoes instead of canned. I also added chili powder. You get a lot less calories without the meat and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Ailman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is awesome! Whole family loves it and our South American friends loved it too when we served it at half time of the opening World Cup game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Really delicious. Made without meat. High school kids liked it very much. I used frozen mango, canned chopped green chilis (mild) instead of chopping a chili pepper, added 1 can of vegetable stock in place of 15 oz of the water, and added cumin, chili powder, and a bit more salt. I quadrupled the recipe for a carnival and used 2 six quart stock pots to prepare. To serve at the carnival, I kept the soup warm in 2 large crock pots. It made about 100 servings and it was completely gone. Thanks for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States