Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I made no changes, and I wouldn't, this was amazing as written! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This stew is absolutely delicious. I modified the recipe a bit and use two(2) mangos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Delicious and very different! I skipped the ham but will use turkey ham next time because the chorizo alone is too little for protein, although I used 2 chorizo. I also used 3 sweet potatoes and added an extra 2 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lei Lani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Even though I never heard of anything like this when I was in Brazil, this stew is to die for! It's hearty, meaty, and flavorful, and I absolutely love the low burn from the chile pepper that warms you from the inside out. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Austin Ballard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I did a little variation of this, but it was super delicious--great combo of flavors. I used a slice or two of bacon and a diced chicken breast rather than the chorizo and ham. Added chili powder and chipotle chili flakes instead of the green chile (but used diced toms with chiles) to add a little flavor. Used frozen mango like others and that worked well. Increased the garlic and added a spoonful of better than bouillon (chicken). Very yummy and warming on a cold winter day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
REALLY bland. A good base, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Simply amazing. I used a little less water and it came out thick like I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Made a half version to try. I had tomatoes that needed to be used, so I subbed those for the canned. I used chicken stock in place of the water. I also added a peeled, chopped carrot. No mango on hand so had to forego that. Not much thickness to the broth, but after a day or so in the fridge, it was great served over rice. Also, I had some turkey kielbasa on hand which I pan-fried and served with it. Yummy! Thanks CRVGRL, a very good and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Seriouly people, soy or chicken chorizo? You have hit the WRONG recipe my friend! Do not... Repeat... Do NOT omit the chorizo or ham from this recipe. This is where the flavor is! There are plenty of recipes from the "Moosewood Lodge Vegetarian" cookbook that will please. Just don't mess with this sweet baby. If your sorry mangoes (ahem, southern US) are all you have, simply double the hard mangoes and stew with the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I just omitted the chili pepper and my 20-month old loved it! So did everyone else in my house! It's a perfect mix of sweet and savory. Thank you for the recipe! It did take an hour to make, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States