Brazilian Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I tried this recipe and found it to be just okay. I thought that the oj/sugar would form more of a syrup but it just stayed liquid. I did like the fact that it's introducing fruit as the dessert but no one was wow-ed in my family. Sorry, I hate to not rate things well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was a really nice, light dessert. Everyone went back to get seconds, even after a large meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I was looking for something to do with some really ripe bananas and did want a bread. This seemed like a nice change. After reading reviews I decided to make some changes. First, I dissolved the sugar in the liquids prior to pouring over bananas. Second, I skipped adding the butter prior to baking. Then, after baking, I further reduced the remaining liquid (which was way too thin) to make more of a syrup consistency. All in all it was pretty good. My husband and I both thought toasting the coconut then sprinkling on top would be a good idea. I ate it alone and found tasty but a littlesweet. My husband put ice cream on top-which I found better tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
We made this in my jr hi cooking class. At first the kids weren't too receptive to it because of how it looked but once one tasted it, they all went for it. Nothing was left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Fresnos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
A nice, different dessert. I added crushed pineapple and a little juice instead of the lemon juice. It did seem like it was missing something. It was really good with vanilla ice cream- a tropically banana split. I'd probably make this again and experiment with the ingredients for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This is alright, but I think there are many, many ways to use up 6 bananas that are better than this. The "syrup" is very runny, and the dish is very sweet. Also, the presentation isn't much -- limp, wet bananas. Sorry. The taste was actually alright (and I toasted the coconut, which was good) but I don't think I will bother again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This dessert is good, for getting rid of very ripe bananas. My 4 year old was crazy about it (5 stars), but the adults were more ambivalent (3-4 stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
We were not a big fan of these at all, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I took the other reviews into consideration when I decided to make this recipe. Since alot of reviews said the sauce was liquidy and too sweet, I cut the sugar back to 1/3 cup and simmered the orange sauce in a saute pan until syrupy. I then sliced the bananas on the diagonal, and heated in the sauce for a couple of minutes. This recipe can be done completely on the stove top, no baking required. I served it over vanilla ice cream and topped it with toasted coconut. My family all loved it, and my son said it was almost as good as his favorite dessert, banana cream pie. It's a keeper and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Next time, will use brown sugar. Left off the coconut (allergies), and added a touch of caramel sauce, whipped cream and a cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Living In: Wellston, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States