Brazil Nut Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
One of my aunts made this many years ago, and mom lost the recipe.. so found it a couple of years ago, and made it 4 times the recipe.. which I got here, and I spent hours cracking those nuts... but I baked them in small aluminum loaf pans, and gave them as christmas gifts. I love this cake, and so I am going to do it again this year, but keep them all for me, lol. No one likes 'fruit' cake, and if they don't try it how will they know. I hate 'fruit' cake, myself, but this is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
excellent! we chopped the nuts to make it easier to cut later. i made it twice and varied the fruits and nuts keeping the pound amounts the same.... we loved that the cake only held the nuts and fruit in place.... will make again and again. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I'm so glad I re-discovered this recipe. I used to make it some 30 years ago, but I had lost the recipe. This is quick and delicious. Great for people who say that they don't like fruitcake. The recipe I had called for a mock hard sauce to serve over it, if desired. Thanks for sharing. Now I can make this next Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This is the recipe my husband asks for every Christmas. I often change the fruit and nuts, making sure there are always 4 pounds of fruit and 3 pounds of nuts. This recipe makes 3 very large, heavy fruitcakes, so it's good for sharing. Our favorite combination is 1.5 pounds glace fruit (cherries & pineapple), 2.5 pounds mixed dried fruit (berries, golden raisins, apricots, mango, prunes, dates, papaya), 3 pounds nuts equal proportions brazil nuts, almonds, walnuts, and cashews. We follow the cake ingredients and instructions exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARRIDANN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Finally found this recipe! My Mom, being from San Antonio made this fruitcake every year..my family has enjoyed it , but it had been lost in the shuffle of years..Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
The recipe I've been searching for. I put in an equal weight of different fruits and nuts...I love candied pineapple and cherries. I thought there wouldn't be enough batter when I was mixing, but it turned out to be just right to hold the fruit together. Slice thin with a sharp, wet knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This is the easiest and best fruit & nut cake I have tried.I changed the ingredients by substituting fruits & nuts my family likes.I just made sure to measure pound for pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States