Braunschweiger Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I was highly skeptical about making this for the members of a craft club at my local retirement home here in the deep south where no one knows what braunschweiger is. But I made this spread and then made finger sandwiches with it and they went wild over it. There were no leftovers!!! Will admit that since I had no ketchup in the house I didn't rush to the store for the 2 drops. Very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I thought it was pretty good, but most everyone else didn't like it! It was not a pretty appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I halved this recipe, mixed it in the food processor, and it turned out very smooth and creamy. All I could taste was liverwurst, so I added more of the steak sauce, onion, and ketchup AND added tabasco (quite a bit actually) which really kicked it up a notch. Rather than forming into a ball, I just served it in a little crock with olive slices on the top. Next time, I'm going to mix in some chopped olives after processing the spread. I love liverwurst, my husband not so much, but he really liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was delicious! I had a package of cream cheese I needed to use up but only an 8 oz tube of braunschweiger. I added a whole onion and increased the steak sauce a bit. I wanted a little more zip, so I also added a couple tablespoons of worcestershire sauce. Really good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug49

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This had a nice smooth texture when made in the food processor. I adapted it for a halloween party by making it in a round mold, just a bowl lined with plastic will do. I spread the molded spread with mayo then I made the center of the eye from chopped black olives. I then made the colored part of the eye green by using drained resish. Then I took thin strips of roasted peppers and streaked them through the white to represent a bloodshot eye. I used two different sized mason jar lids as round templates to shape the round eye but thought you could do the some from shaped foil. This was such a hit and could easily be done on a plain cheese ball as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATESJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I used this to make little sandwiches for a poker game, so I left out the olives and put in a few squirts of mustard. So easy to spread! I recommend a full cup of chopped onion. The menfolk gobbled this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Everyone loved it and it was almost gone by the end of the night. Definately will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I loved this recipe the only problem is my husband seems to have self control issues when it comes to eating this. He ate so much he was sick all night and couldn't look at it afterwards...lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Several months ago, my husband had tried a similar braunschweiger spread made by his coworker's mom. After he raved about it for a couple of days, I decided to try to find the recipe online. I found this recipe to be the closest to what he thought was in the other one he tasted. After I tasted it, I was hooked as well. It is awesomely tasty and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudwifeandmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States