Bratwurst Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I just had to review this recipe simply because of how easy to prepare and tasty it turned out to be. I followed the recipe as written but added one final touch at the end to add some thickness...I mashed some of the beans with a potato masher. I thought that made it just the right consistency. What a great way to use up extra bratwurst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moheim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Pretty good. Followed the recipe exactly except I used kielbasa instead of brats. I prefer the Lentil and Smoked Sausage Soup from this site though. I doubled the sausage and my kids really gobbled it up. Good stuff on a cold winter's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Quick, easy, delicious! I have used pre-cut veggies from the grocer to make it even quicker. Everyone always loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I put this on my Thanksgiving weekend menu plan as a break from poultry. I thought my German in-laws would like this stew. Well, there was a LOT of unexpected hesitation, but it turned out to be a winner! I bought good quality brats and removed the skin. Next time I will also slice them lengthwise for smaller mouths. I set a brown mustard on the table & some folks dipped their brats. I also opted for potatoes over beans (per another reviewer's suggestion). There was A LOT of concern about digestive gas. Turned out not to be a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is the winner in my family. I usually serve brats with sauerkrat(which noone likes but me) and this was a great change. Only thing I was asked to do differently is to add more brats!! GREAT recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gronert Pitts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
wow, does this recipe makes a savory stew! i followed the directions as written, first simmering my johnsonville original bratwurst in beer then frying them to a dark brown. the stew's broth stays thin until you add the brats & beans then it thickens up nicely. mmmmm, so tasty! i made this dish ahead of time because it's our out of town dinner two nights from now. i expect the stew to get even better with age & will serve it with warm crusty bread. thanks taste of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This was great up until the last step. The beans were very overpowering. Next time we'll definitely leave them out, and probably dice up the bratwurst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
We really liked this, I added a pack of spicy hot dogs to it for me and my husband. It warmed us up on a cool day! I added an extra can of broth to make the soup go further also! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Very Good! It's another dish to serve with that fresh corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBC150

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This was great! We use 1/2 the beans, but besides that, don't change anything else. We use Johnsonville German Brats and they add a great flavor. I don't really messure the cabbage when I make it anymore, and sometimes it turns out a little low on liquid. It makes a lot but, it reheats great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States