Bratwurst Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Two cans of chicken broth was not enough, more like 4 cans. Also, I had to bring it back up to a boil for the cabbage to cook. I used fresh basil, and went heavy on the other spices and added black pepper. Other than that, this was very good. Like a boiled dinner without the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
We and our guest loved it. I made it again within a week and gave the recipe to our guest to take home with him. I didn't change anything in the original recipe, although I know some people did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
When I went to the grocery I thought I had chicken broth, so I substituted 2 cans of cream of chicken soup with 3 cans of water. I was nervous of the outcome, but my husband and I both thought it was good. He said, "Actually this is really good!". He is accustomed to my experiments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Very Tasty. My husband loved it. He had 3 bowls. Doubled the receipe the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Easy to prepare, I browned the brats a little then pulled them out of the pan and then sweat the veggies. I always have a way of making more than what I should so I added two large boxes of chicken broth. The thyme and basil really add flavor and I used a little Cavenders Greek seasoning to it. Can't wait til tomorrow after it has marinated all night. It is an outstanding and simple recipe... Delicious... Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
We softened the celery, onion and minced real garlic in a bit of oil, and added home canned tomatoes along with some V8 juice, as it was kind of lacking in liquid. I thought it was just OK that night. Let it sit in the fridge overnight, and wow, I couldn't stop eating it. Like a lot of soups and stews, it was much better the second day. It cries out for more black pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peotone, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Yum! I made this in the crockpot using canned carrots and kielbasa since i couldn't find bratwurst. had to add an extra can of broth (probably cuz i added too much cabbage and freeze dried beans) but it was SO AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I had some leftover brats and didn't know what to do with them until I came upon this. I came out great and I am serving it for supper tonight. I wouldn't call it a stew as it was not thickened with anything. Maybe that is why others added potato. I liked it just the way it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was really good & easy! I used Johnsonville smoked bratwurst links & subbed some skin-on baby red potatoes for half of the beans, and let sit overnight. Both my husband & I were very pleased, it's a keeper & we'll be making it many times again. This will be great on chilly fall or winter nights, thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I was skeptical that this would be flavorful because of its simplicity, but it was truly tasty. Very Easy to prepare and I didn't change anything (very unlike me) so, as is, this is a nice recipe. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crispy Waffles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States