Bratwurst, Sauerkraut and Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Wow was I shocked at just how good this is ! We love just sauekraut and brats but this is now our new favorite ! I doubled the amount of baked beans but otherwise made it as written. Oh, so good ! Just me and my husband so there will be left overs for tomorrow....and I'll bet it's even better then !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was a great recipe; the only change I would make is to double the beans. I also used sliced turkey sausage rather than bratwurst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This sure is a quick and easy recipe! I really liked the sauerkraut with that little bit of brown sugar. It takes the tartness away. This was/is a really busy Saturday and this was the perfect meal for today! For as simple as it is it is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This was SO good! My husband loves German food and particularly sauerkraut so I thought it would be a hit! He just said it was 'ok', but I loved it and ate all the leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very easy ans super tasty. Good work night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattinyc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was great, it just wasn't "oh man, this is SOOO good!!!" great. I added more brown sugar and put it on top of rinsed and drained black beans (instead of baked beans), and I also tore up a soft tortilla and put it on the bottom of the dish. I didn't squeeze out any of the sauerkraut, and that way the tortilla stayed soft, and we all really liked it in there. I also cut up the brats (I used beer brats) into bite size chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I kind of reversed the proportions here and used a 28 ounce can of baked beans and a 16 ounce can of sauerkraut. I think this ratio is a bit better. I also used kielbasa instead of bratwurst because I don't like bratwurst and because kielbasa doesn't have to be cooked first. Next time I will probably use a bit more brown sugar, and caraway would be a great addition if you like caraway. All in all, this is a really good meal served with salad and mashed potatoes, and it is really easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
The boys in my family LOVED this! I think though adding another can of beans evens the flavor a little more. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was good. I only had turkey hotdogs. Would have been better with Kielbasa or brat sausages. Next time perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was excellent and easy to do, it's a real family favorite around my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States