Bratwurst, Sauerkraut and Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is now one of our family favorites. Even good as leftovers. A great way to sweeten up sauerkraut without loosing the flavor. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grady Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alta Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
This recipe was , quick, tasty and great,everyone loved it..I used Bush"s beans, and 2 Tbls. sugar..Kids love this recipe,and it gets the veggies in them..Great for a picnic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I liked the sweet/sour concept so the next time I made this I doubled the brown sugar and sprinked 1 tbsp. over the saurkraut and 1 over the beans. This was good on a bun with some ketchup (honest!) but it's also good without the bun. Want it extra quick and easy? Use a bag of Johnsonville pre-cooked brats, thawed, but throw them in still cold. Works wonderfully. My whole family liked this, even my 18-month old. This deserves 5 stars simply because it tastes good but it's so fast and easy. After making this a few times, I realized a regular size can of saurkraut is plenty, at least for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This WAS the best.....I didn't have any celery salt, so I omitted that. Didn't even miss it. But everything else added, made this a wonderful meal. I used the brat buns, and everyone loved them. Very juicy and tender. The beans themselves were delicious added to the brats along with the tasty sauerkraut. With a little sweetness from the brown sugar....It made this a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Very good recipe but an excellent variation on this is: 1. Always precook the brats in straight beer with onions chopped up into large pieces in beer. Boil the onions in beer until soft prior to boiling brats. Only boil brats for 5 minutes then take off heat and let it soak in all the beer and onion flavor for a while. 2. Take several jalapenos and center celery stalks and chop to small 1/4" pieces and sautee them in butter over a low heat until very soft. Keep pan covered. I use 50/50 mixture but if you like it hotter go 66/33 or if not so hot go 25/75(first number is percentage of jalapeno in mix) 3. Take a flavor injector syringe and inject the jalapeno and celery into the brat. Be sure to only inject the mixture into the ends of the brat, not through the sides because the the juice will leak out during the cooking with the sauerkraut. 4. Put brats in the sauerkraut and cook til done. 5. Use the onions in the beer on your sandwich. 6. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Very tasty !! I LOVE sauerkraut but my husband detests the stuff and gets mad at me whenever I try to feed it to him!! He actually ate it and commented that it 'tasted pretty good' HA! I could not bring myself to buy the pale, anemic uncooked bratwurst so I started with the precooked kind and skipped step 1. I did rinse and then simmer my kraut in a pan with a bit of water and beer for about 15 min. and then put a generous amount of brown sugar on top after putting it in the baking dish (my attempt at disguising it for hubby dear). There were no leftovers, my 7yo ate up the extra brats, hubby claimed the beans and I got the kraut...everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
I was looking for something different to make for my family. This recipe was really easy to make! It tasted good too. Can't ask for more than that. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I just wanted to say that I was totally skeptical about making this dish because I am not a fan of sauerkraut but it was absolutely delicious!! My husband loved it too!! Definitely boil the brats in beer and onions first and I also added bacon to the kraut. I will definitely make this again. Other people mentioned that it was runny and I think that is because they didn't drain the kraut. Anyway delicious dinner, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain Grove, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Great recipe and was SO delicious. I used Bush's Home Style beans that has extra brown sugar and a bit of bacon in it. I did not add any extra brown sugar. Did boil one coarsely chopped up white onion in some Dundee Honey Lager beer until tender then added the brat and two stalks celery cut up and steamed covered for an additional 5 minutes. Then after draining browned the brat a bit. Added all the onion, celery and brat to the top of the baked beans and sauerkraut. I was so hungry, I only baked 30 minutes at 350. This recipe is a a keeper! Oh, I used a 16 oz. can of sauerkraut as well as a 14-16 oz. can of baked beans with 6 Johnsonville Stadium (cooked)brats. Enough to feed 3 hungry folks or 4 not so hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I substituted knockwurst for bratwurst and it was still wonderful! A great combination of sweet and sour...AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States