Bratwurst, Sauerkraut and Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
This dish was not "bad" but I definitely wouldn't qualify it as "good" either. It was kind of just...there. If I'm going to cook bratwurst, I would have much preferred them grilled, on a bun with some mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I forgot to drain the sour kraut, so mine was runny. I'm anxious to try it again correctly. I think we'll really enjoy it and will be able to taste the flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I'm giving this 4 stars because it is so quick, easy, inexpensive, and uses things that I always have on hand. It really isn't anything spectacular, but it did the job. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
A huge hit with my hubby Debbie! Altered the recipe a bit by lightly browning some onion in a pan, while several strips of bacon were cooking in the microwave. I added the sauerkraut to the onion, then the bacon, plus caraway seeds. (German people need these seeds in their kraut) After simmering for about fifteen minutes, I then proceeded with the recipe. I used Johnsonville Brats even though my Dad, Otto, would probably laugh at me. Sorry Dad, but they're good. Anyway, this is a good and comforting dish and I thank you for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I personally loved this recipe but added a little more brown sugar. My husband even had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Very tasty !! I LOVE sauerkraut but my husband detests the stuff and gets mad at me whenever I try to feed it to him!! He actually ate it and commented that it 'tasted pretty good' HA! I could not bring myself to buy the pale, anemic uncooked bratwurst so I started with the precooked kind and skipped step 1. I did rinse and then simmer my kraut in a pan with a bit of water and beer for about 15 min. and then put a generous amount of brown sugar on top after putting it in the baking dish (my attempt at disguising it for hubby dear). There were no leftovers, my 7yo ate up the extra brats, hubby claimed the beans and I got the kraut...everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
My guys were really disappointed with this recipe...it's basically pretty ugly, and we couldn't figure out what to do with everything... way too mushy to put in a bun..do you put the beans in or have them on the side? They henceforth have demanded I not adulterate their beloved brats and kraut. I love this site for printing recipes just before I go home, and have a huge stack of recipes that stepson wants to take to college. Unfortunately, this one went in the trash... sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCDEBBIET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Very good recipe but an excellent variation on this is: 1. Always precook the brats in straight beer with onions chopped up into large pieces in beer. Boil the onions in beer until soft prior to boiling brats. Only boil brats for 5 minutes then take off heat and let it soak in all the beer and onion flavor for a while. 2. Take several jalapenos and center celery stalks and chop to small 1/4" pieces and sautee them in butter over a low heat until very soft. Keep pan covered. I use 50/50 mixture but if you like it hotter go 66/33 or if not so hot go 25/75(first number is percentage of jalapeno in mix) 3. Take a flavor injector syringe and inject the jalapeno and celery into the brat. Be sure to only inject the mixture into the ends of the brat, not through the sides because the the juice will leak out during the cooking with the sauerkraut. 4. Put brats in the sauerkraut and cook til done. 5. Use the onions in the beer on your sandwich. 6. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
This recipe was , quick, tasty and great,everyone loved it..I used Bush"s beans, and 2 Tbls. sugar..Kids love this recipe,and it gets the veggies in them..Great for a picnic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I made this dish but substituted a can of drained black beans for the baked beans. I like this dish. It was quick and easy and the sour/sugar combo was a hit. Next time though I will add a little more than the called for tablespoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States